We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince Rupert Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super location, super hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We decided to visit shrewsbury at the last minute and found this hotel on laterooms.
The rate for a room on B&B basis was reasonable and the location seemed good. It advertised as a town centre location. And it was. It was fabulous
The hotel is a little difficult to get to, as it is situated on an old narrow road next to a church but it's worth it. The old shop lanes are lovely. The hotel park your car for you at a location a short distance away as they do not have their own parking but I think it's a nice touch.
I think what you have to bear in mind is that this is an old building and by and large they have maintained it well and it retains some lovely features. The rooms could do with a bit of a make over but ours (12) was nice and it was clean.
There are some lovely bars and pubs in the town and if you are a fan of cocktails try The Libertines bar just over the road from the pub. We ate in The Peach Tree the night we stayed which is a 10 min walk from the hotel just over the English Bridge near the abbey. It was very busy but the food was good.
The hotel breakfast was lovely the following morning, and they even made us up a packed lunch to take with us (£7.50) when we left the next day as we were off to see some more of the Shropshire countryside.
The Prince Rupert is a very nice little hotel, and if you are coming to Shrewsbury you should certainly give this one some concideration.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushbabyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    359
    186
    93
    52
See reviews for
122
595
44
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Yes, there were one or two minor niggles, but overall, the ambiance and general running of the hotel were good and the staff very pleasant. Breakfast was first rate, car parking service excellent. Room was pretty, though the dust on the beams was a bit off-putting! Generally, the hotel could do with a bit of a face lift, but there were some very nice touches. We had some issues with the pillows, it was like sleeping on a brick! When we asked for some softer ones, we were told they were all the same! In the end we bought some from T K Max round the corner! I can't believe we were the only ones to complain about this!
However, all in all, these were minor complaints, the hotel is in the best part of Shrewsbury, architecturally speaking and has much to recommend it - I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The lane leading to the hotel is very easy to miss as we did, which ment a full circut of the town on a busy saturday afternoon. The bedroom was on the 1st floor but we had quite a walk away from the lift & another fight of stairs after we got lost in a maze of corridors we found our bedroom. The room & bed were comfortable but could do with a spring clean, as there were cobwebs all over the ceiling & a dirty handprint on the wall. The hotel could benefit from a refurbishment, as it starting to look abit neglected.
We found the staff very helpful & friendly & the breakfast was very good as well as the service we received. It was in a perfect location right in the middle of town, where there are plenty shops bars & restaurants & a short walk to the river.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We booked at the Prince Rupert on recomendation and we were not disappointed, we were booked to stay for one night in the Tudor suite 15th century but when we booked into the hotel we were given Prince Maurice room 12th century, The room was lovely and full of character you could really tell this belonged to the 12th century, the floors were totally uneven and which took some getting used too but was all part of the charm, the roll top bath was superb and towels so thick that you could barely lift them, the bed was also very comfy, the only downside to the room and it was a big one for me... there is a rather large skylight above the bed it was covered with a net curtain but this is no good when it gets light at 4.30 am so therefor we were awake with the birds.
The breakfast was lovely and the staff superb, we had evening meal in the Chambers and it was outstanding there was nothing we could fault on, the staff also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewellapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed at the Prince Rupert on a wnder through the United Kingdom and only stayed one night. It was a little difficult to find as it is situated in the old part of the town. Once we got there we found the hotel in a great location, in the middle of town. The room was a liitle small (perhaps cramped for two), clean and what we needed for a one night; but the hospitality was first class. While the check-in was taking place we were welcomed with a nice port and some smiley staff.
Breakfast was included in the tariff and was fine.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Yesterday was our wedding and we had our reception and wedding night at the Prince Rupert Hotel in Shrewsbury. Words cannot describe how amazing the service was from start to finish. We felt like royalty all day as the staff hotel could not do enough to make the day special. Our two year old was spoiled all day by them and everything far exceeded our already high expectations.

The food that we were served was exquisite as was the silver service. The chef had ensured that every meal that came out of the kitchen for our reception and breakfast in the morning was nothing short of superb.

My parents also ate the previous evening in the Chambers restaurant in the hotel and described the lamb that they had as the best they had ever tasted. Based on my experience of the food, I have every reason the believe that to be true.

We spent the night in the Mansion house suites which were luxurious and very peaceful, we especially enjoyed the Penhaligons toiletries and our jaccuzzi and four poster bed.

The whole event was superbly but discretely co-ordinated and was incredible value for money. (We really did have a luxury occassion on a budget!)

I cannot thank the hotel staff or praise them highly enough. I would recommend the Prince Rupert for any event, but especially weddings, they have a superb understanding of both customer service but also how to create the romance of the occassion. I would say to any bride to make this your first call when looking at venues, they are a class of their own.

Thank you all for the most perfect day, and one that we will never forget.

Room Tip: The top level mansion suites offer amazing value for money and will give you an experience that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thearomatherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, Bahamas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed here with my father in late January ! As we are were very familiar with the town, we appreciated the location of the hotel to the town centre, bus and train stations, pubs, restaurants, shops, all within a short walking distance. My room was cosy, comfy and warm and even though situated at the front of the hotel, was very quiet! Breakfast was a good spread, fast service with friendly staff! Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sissa2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
649 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Rupert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert Hotel

Property: Prince Rupert Hotel
Address: Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Rupert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase. Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano. Valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park at a cost of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prince Rupert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrewsbury Hotel Prince Rupert
Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Hotel Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Prince Rupert Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing