We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful place to spend our wedding night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince Rupert Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Just awful, the staff were aware it was our wedding day but I even had to carry my own bag upstairs in my wedding dress.Room was dirty, dry cleaning tickets still pinned to the curtains, staff miserable. We weren't expecting special treatment, but a smile would have been nice! Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hobgoblin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Spent a fantastic 2 night break at the Prince Rupert over new year, what can i say but superb all round, we stayed in the Prince Maurice suite in the 12th century mansion block, an amazing room full of period features low beams and twisted floorboards entered by a private staicase.

The staff, food and drink were impecable and the new years eve gala dinner was great, with some crazy balloon antics from fellow guests which was hilarious.

All in all a fantastic short break in a beautiful city with amazing architecture, shops and pubs.

i would urge you to give the Prince Rupert hotel a try for a quality hotel in a prime location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johninman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked only 10 days before travelling, and were attracted by the price and the New Years Eve 'do'. Were not disappointed at all. Fabulous hotel in a central location. Booked a standard double room and got a lovely little 'suite'. Room was overlooking the street at the front of the hotel which was good for 'people watching'. The room was lovely, clean, very comfy bed and fluffy towels- (only let down was very few milks on tea tray and few toiletries in bathroom).
Got a good deal on Dinner, B+B for 2 nights, had a lovely time and would definitely recommend the hotel. The dining room staff were SO great! but the Chef needs to rethink his way of cooking beef- almost inedible.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank microsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Recently attended a wedding and stayed at the hotel. The family room was awful. No heating on when we arrived, had to take an electric heater from the passage way to warm up the room and huddle around the trouser press. The room consisted of a small double with adjoining small unheated family room with bunks. This room had to be walked through to get to the bathroom. The room with the bunks looked like a hostel, although the bunks were a good size. The bathroom although very dated was clean, but the plastic clingy shower curtains around the bath and over the window were not nice. On the plus side there were plenty of towels and the bed sheets were good quality. The view from the window was disappointing, a view of the hotel roofs, dirty and rubbishy. At night the noise from a party somewhere in the hotel was really loud. There were not enough coffee sachets, no tea sachets and not enough toiletries either. We were very disappointed. It wasn't cheap either. The breakfast was ok. but the service poor. I would have rather stayed at a Premier Inn. It could have been nice as the building is gorgeous, but really tired and scruffy. Although my husband said the men's loos near reception were "state of the art", but I can't comment on those from personal experience.
The staff were very nice, they probably have to be to make up for the state of the building.
I'd give it a miss in future.

Room Tip: Try to see the room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masiemophead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Recently attended a business function which combined a formal meeting and meal. All aspects of the evening were excellent, staff were courteous and attentive. We were given canopes and drinks, shown to a beautiful state room for the meal and business meeting. This hotel offers something different, it is steeped in history, has great stories of ghosts and yet has the feeling of modern day facilities. Thanks to all for an excellent evening. The quality of the food and presentation is the best I have experienced for years.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Brilliant and atmospheric business dining experience in a small private room that perfectly accommodated the 10 of us. Rumoured to be haunted but I saw nothing except exceptional service and quality grub. The chef's take on a Baked Alaska took me straight back to my childhood. Well worth another visit I think.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I would not stay at this hotel if I wanted a luxurious stay - the room I booked was very dated and extremely small ('petit double'). I was travelling alone and it would have been very cramped if my partner was also with me. However, I would stay at this hotel if I needed a very convenient central location, helpful staff, interesting/historic accommodation and an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
648 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
373 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Rupert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert Hotel

Address: Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £68 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Rupert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase. Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano. Valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park at a cost of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prince Rupert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrewsbury Hotel Prince Rupert
Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Hotel Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Prince Rupert Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing