We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what was expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince Rupert Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what was expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Since we had such a lovely stay in Bath, at a 5 star resort our expectations were high. We were disappointed with the room and the hotel dinning experience. The room was
small. (Listed as a Jr Suite. ) This is an old hotel that has been somewhat updated. Our room looked over the alleyway. Coming into the room you had to go down three large steps with out a rail to hang on to. To get to the new bathroom we again had to go down three large steps without a rail. The new bathroom was excellent, with a walk in shower.

When we went down to dinner, we were disappointed in the décor. The furniture was shabby and in need of repair. The whole room was in need of an up date as was the lobby. The food was average. It took a long time to receive it. I do not think we will be guests of this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    341
    179
    91
    51
See reviews for
115
562
41
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked our party celebrations at this hotel in April 2013 for our small wedding reception and returned in June 2014 for our children's Christening party. On both occasions we were delighted with the service and the amazing food. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always on hand to assist us.
We found the environment very welcoming and extremely professional. Nothing was too much trouble, even if we had to change something at the last minute. It is safe to say they will have our custom for many years to come.
Why is this hotel only a four star and not a five?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We paid extra for a "Double Room with enhanced bathroom" and the bathroom was indeed lovely - beautifully decorated to a high standard. The bedroom itself, however, was another matter. The hotel is a historic hotel, so I expected that room might be somewhat historical, I did not expect that era however to be the 1980s! Furniture and decor was faded and had seen better days, the kettle was well past replacement. Though I will say that the room was clean and the bed was comfy.
Be aware that Shrewsburians know how to party and on a Friday and Saturday night the noise levels can be high. The room we had was on the front of the hotel and the Saturday night we could (even with the window closed) hear the music and noise from the pub down the road until well after midnight.
The breakfast left a lot to be desired and now what I would expect from an £115 a night hotel. The Vegetarian options on the hot breakfast were minimum. Service is also patchy! The second morning we had to ask for our toast three times before we finally got it - at least 15 minutes after we really wanted it!
The add insult to injury when we went to checkout we were overcharged, someone else's bar tab had been added to our room. Though the hotel did eventually remove this charge they did not explain how such a mistake was made.
The stay had been bought for us as a Christmas present from my family and we had high hopes, we left very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittencatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here this weekend in a 12th century suite, Prince Maurice. Unique and atmospheric room,up some pretty steep stairs so be aware of this if you are less mobile! Room was quirky with uneven floor and amazing beams, bed so comfy and everything you need is provided. Lovely deep roll top bath and good quality toiletries. Even the towels were hige and fluffy, nice waffle robes, plenty of tea and coffee and I loved the way the room had been sensitively decorated. Location is perfect. I have only ever stayed here on my visits to Shrewsbury to see family and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: 12th century suites are top of the range and are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

OK so I had breakfast sitting next to a suit of armour! all the historic touches you could wish for in this great old hotel the floors and walls creak and bow adding the feeling that you are spending the night somewhere historic! The room however had just been modernised I think I caught the whiff of fresh paint.The bathroom was superb clean and modern and our room looked out over the trees to the square below. The car was parked securely by the valet and returned to us the next morning as requested. The room although on the front was quiet and the breakfast was very tasty. all in all a great experience I hope to return again soon! One criticism would be please add free wifi for residents its the 21st century this kind of thing should be standard by now!

Room Tip: ask for a modernised room these are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Prince Rupert for two nights Sun. 11th may 2014.

Its a beautiful old hotel, with new modern bathrooms, which are excellent.
The breakfast and service was also very good, fantastic choices.
Hotel is situated right in the heart of town, so great location.

Would like to say a big thank you to Camilla and James who own and run this beautiful hotel, for making our stay special.

A big well done on recently being upgraded to a 4 star, richly deserved.

Many thanks

Tony & Debbie Dann

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire Wales
Level Contributor
162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights returning home today. The hotel location is unrivalled and slap bang in the town centre.

when we arrived the valet promptly took our car away for secure parking and returned it for us as we were ready to leave this morning , this was excellent as we had not intended to use the car during our stay.

the hotel is very old and has a wealth of characther and charm ,and all the staff were friendly at all times.

the breakfast was of excellent quality, and it was interesting to look at all the artifacts associated with Prince Rupert around the dinning room. We did not have supper in the Hotel so cant comment although the menu looked inviting.

Our room (101) was nice with a recently refurbished bathroom , the only issue we had with the room was it was overlooked with offices accross the road and as we generally like our room to be light at night and leave the curtains open we were unable to do this here !not really a problem though.

the only issue i had with the hotel is that it is advertised with a sauna, jaqussi and a steam shower , when i went to use these facilities they were not even switched on!!

all in all a great place to stay and explore the wonderful olde town of Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ew6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
3.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Rupert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert Hotel

Property: Prince Rupert Hotel
Address: Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Rupert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase. Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano. Valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park at a cost of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Rupert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Hotel Prince Rupert
Prince Rupert Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing