We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, but tired and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince Rupert Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, but tired and dated”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Can't fault the location right in the centre of Shrewsbury and valet parking included, but from here it goes down hill. The entrance to the hotel is very small and shabby and despite the reception desk which is maned by very efficient and helpful staff it just gets more gloomy inside. It boast the smallest of lifts which still advertises an Italian restaurant which looks to have been shut down for years! We had a standard room with 'enhanced facilities' which basically meant the bathroom had undergone a facelift. Nothing to get excited about shower over bath and fancy round bowl set too high on a piece of marble. We asked for a quiet room and got one overlooking other roofs it had a half window which had a pelmet and draped curtains in a very dark brown which only added to its gloominess. Whist the room was very clean it was just depressing with old chipped/marked furniture. Breakfast was good but again let down by its surroundings and worn furniture. Not £115.00 well spent.

Room Tip: Avoid room 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    349
    181
    92
    51
See reviews for
119
578
43
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

we stayed here with a friend for a belated wedding anniversary treat and found it to be a very old, quaint style hotel in a most central position, sat nav doesn't take you to the hotel, so make sure you know exactly where you are heading, ignore the no entry sign at fish street!!!!

superb breakfast, friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I took my mother to this "quaint" hotel for a surprise stay for her 84th birthday, and chose a suite as an extra treat, and she loved it! Although the furniture is a little "worn" in places it adds to the character of the place - if you want a trendy, "clinical", modern hotel then book one (& I'll bet you find one or two "niggles" in all of those too!) Yes it's a bit of a rambling place, but remember its age, and beware that the lift can't reach all the floors - again an age of the building thing, but it might be important if you have mobility problems. However, I guess if you warn the hotel at the time of booking they will help you choose the right room to meet your needs.

Breakfast, and the evening meal we had in Chambers were excellent and the staff throughout were wonderful - they treated mum as if she were the Queen! They checked she would be able to cope with the stairs to our suite and did everything they could to make her birthday a special one.

All in all, we were both delighted with my choice of this hotel and I'm now hoping someone might decide to take me back for my birthday!!

Room Tip: See comments above about the lift not reaching all parts of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 154Ready_to_go_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed, with 3 children, a couple of nights in one of the family rooms. An extra bed was supplied so all 5 of us could fit in one room together - appreciated.

Absolutely exhausted by the final approach. After a long journey (including sat nav) a few extra signs to convince the driver you really are going to find the hotel if you drive up what appears to be a cobbled footpath and then leave your car blocking the way while you unload etc etc, would be reassuring. Some advance warning to drivers e.g. on the website would also be kind.

The staff were all really great - all very helpful and some great characters as well. Check in was fine, car was parked for me no problem. Very polite and efficient breakfast service. I have the feeling it's the loyal staff that keep this show on the road.....

The room was a bit of a surprise in terms of cramped-ness, quality of decor, only 2 cups and saucers etc for a family of 5, a kettle that was 2 years past its PAT test date (and took as long to boil). However, all this was made up for by the value for money (around £30/person per night including breakfast). The major concern above all was that the bedroom window could not be secured and led straight onto a flat roof and fire escape. So all valuable had to be carried around.

Wifi was not included in the room rate - this always leaves me feeling a little extorted.

Breakfast was excellent - a cold buffet with choices of various cooked breakfast - really good and again lovely efficient staff.

Over all a good experience. Very interesting old place and a good base from which to explore.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room - and check that the window catches shut and can be secured! Also, unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked the Prince Rupert for their closeness to the town centre which was very good - we stayed in the Prince Rupert Suite which was their top priced room.
We arrived around 5:30pm - given the location o the hotel parking was away from the hotel and a valet was there to park your car - I decided along with another guest to park our own cars so we followed the valet to the car park - due to the valet being the same guy who showed you to your rooms my wife had to sit and wait in the reception for our return which from our arrival was around 20-30 mins.
Finding your room again was very difficult - it is a very confusing hotel and rooms not well signposted - my wife got lost on more than one occassion.
The room (suite) given it was top wack was very average - I used the phone to call the housmaid to ask for an iron and wine glasses (which i though should have been standard) however after trying on several occassions to get through there was no answer - i decided to walk down to reception to ask for them there - anyway half way there I met the valet/porter - generally everything - and asked him for the items - which he brought within 20 mins.
For a top priced room I would have expected an iron, wine glasses as standard - maybe a fridge - the bathroom was ok - the sink was a bit unusual as the mirror was actually behind you which again was a little confusing - the bath had the chain missing from the plug which I know may be a little picky however if I was running a top hotel I would pay attention to detail - surely when the rooms are cleaned this should be picked up reported and fixed.
Breakfast was average - didn't like the sausage and i noticed other guests waiting for food - we had to ask for milk for our tea because the waitress forgot it - he hotel seemed from start to finish to have little staff.
Nice location was ok for one night wouldnt go back again - not worth top money.

Room Tip: Find another hotel as this was ok but well overpriced for what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and that was enough. I appreciate this is a very old building but it does not excuse the dank musty smell and damp patches in the corner of ceilings. We had an 'enhanced' bathroom which was ok, but the room itself was in need of updating.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank I J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A nice old hotel in a great central location. The rooms are what you would expect in such a historic building so I would not be too critical about modernisation etc. The breakfast was good the bar was nice and the service was good. Although it is hidden away on a narrow road the staff will take your car away for you and park it at the Bull Hotel a couple of minutes away. Make sure that you give reception early warning if you need to use your car as it has to be fetched from the parking site! If you are looking for a nice restaurant - The Peach Tree (on the left just over the bridge to the East) will not disappoint - good food at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
3.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Rupert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert Hotel

Property: Prince Rupert Hotel
Address: Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Rupert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase. Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano. Valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park at a cost of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Rupert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrewsbury Hotel Prince Rupert
Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Hotel Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Prince Rupert Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing