We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, old style values Hotel in convenient and pretty location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince Rupert Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We didnt stay in any of the feature rooms and my companions had specifically wanted an accessible room. There is a tiny old fashioned lift into which you can just get a disabled person and a carer in one go! They had a lovely spacious room and my single room had a newly fitted shower room which was gorgeous. The view from my single room was really pleasant, overlooking a pretty church and green, and the cutting edge design public loos...a plus, not a negative - different! For a single room it was very spacious.
The breakfast was great, served in the quirky, panelled dining room, with a good selection offered on the buffet table and fresh hot breakfast served at table. Excellent porridge.
The only down side was the noise in the morning, of delivery drivers pulling up and bins being emptied (very early) by the dust carts, with bins being drawn across the cobbles - bottle bins being emptied from the various pubs nearby. But that is only to be expected in the centre of town and if you are an early riser like me, it is just noisy rather than disturbing your sleep.
The surrounding streets and alleyways by the Hotel are lovely and quaint. We ate in the evening at Porterhouse, just around the corner on Dogpole (cute street names). Be sure to ask for the conservatory area as the bar area gets very loud.

Room Tip: If I booked again I would ask for a haunted room! But the single room above the tearooms is very pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed at the Rupert over the flower show weekend 2014. I understand the staff were busy and stressed, but I will not be commenting much on them. I found the customer service to be OK, nothing more. The issues I had with the stay mostly regarded the hotel itself.

We had three rooms, all directly above each other (floors 1, 2, and 3) - each was in a truly dilapidated condition with many damp spots on the walls and ceiling mouldings, mould in the ceiling corners and generally tired looking furniture. The rooms (and hotel in general) felt quite dirty and all the fixtures and fittings very well used and past their best.

For example the window frames on all the rooms were old and totally rotten with DIY double glazing fitted on two of the three rooms - for good reason as we discovered later.
At night the rooms were incredibly noisy with many of the bars located pretty much directly opposite the hotel not closing until the early hours. The windows in the rooms had to be left open due to the intense summer heat and lack of any form of ventilation or air conditioning provided.
At around 5am, after an extremely troubled night, we were once again awoken by the sound of thunderous shattering glass as what seemed like a million glass bottles were tipped into a recycling truck. This happened multiple times both times during our stay.

This was the first hotel I've stayed at in a long while in which I felt that the room security was very poor. The door felt paper thin and was fitted with a very dated American style round doorknob which are renowned for being very low security. On the inside there was no chain or interior locking device at all and no safe in the room. I understand this is Shrewsbury and not downtown Los Angeles and security is not so much of an issue but I feel it was something that needed to be addressed - a chain isn't too much to ask is it?

The breakfast provided was average at best with a quite limited selection of continental items on offer. I found the croissants to be definitely not fresh at all and the coffee to be verging on appalling. I also thought the small blue plastic bathroom bin placed by the buffet table to contain the cereal boxes a beautiful compliment to the room's wood panelled decor - a really "Royal" touch.

Another disappointment was the lack of free WiFi in the hotel which I find totally unacceptable in this day and age.

I would be OK with all these shortcomings if the hotel wasn't charging top whack for a town hotel, almost £170 a night for a rather rubbish twin room. For that money you expect everything to be great and it really wasn't. Just go to the Premier Inn, at least they have WiFi.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid the front of the hotel unless you enjoy the noise of shattering glass at 5am each m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Felix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

real quirky hotel.a pleasure to stay here.staff are really good .food is very good .valet parking is a real bonus .the hotel is right in the centre .loads of bars/restaraunts/shops .a real nice place to stay highly recommended.

Room Tip: we were on 2nd floor very quiet.also has a lift .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shorty560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

2 day stay for myself only whilst exhibiting at the Flower Show so there with a purpose. Clearly a hotel steeped in history and they obviously have limitations because of the town centre location and historic nature of the hotel and the town. Still can't help feeling £80 a night a bit over priced for a broom cupboard (room 9) with small single bed and seventies furniture. Best thing: the Chambers Restaurant round the corner which they also own. Great steak and attentive service in fascinating decor.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay for the flower show. Room was comfortable and breakfast was good. Generally the hotel was a bit tired and at £195 a night for a small suite I thought it a bit over the top.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Old quirky hotel with friendly staff and excellent evening meal in the Chambers restuarant. Valet parking was an added bonus. Breakfast was good in both quality and service. Room was a small suite with slopping floors and wood beamed walls which added to the oldy world feel. Bathroom was of a very high end modern quality.
Would have no second thoughts about returning both to Shrewsbury and this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel, the staff are very welcoming and friendly, car was parked for us and brought back in the morning. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Room was lovely with oak beams and had the nicest bathroom of any hotel I've stayed in. Would go back without a second thought, the town is lovely although we didn't have much time there we really liked what we managed to see.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank rodric11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#7 of 16 in Shrewsbury
384 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Rupert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert Hotel

Address: Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £84 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Rupert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase. Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano. Valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park at a cost of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prince Rupert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Hotel Prince Rupert
Prince Rupert Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing