We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fit for a prince”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prince Rupert Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not fit for a prince”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Avoid. This is a very tired hotel, and needs a complete overhaul. The interior of the lift is a disgrace. I was assigned an utterly drab room that could be found in any third-rate hotel the world over. The bathroom hadn’t been updated since about 1980. The information folder in the room was tattered and incomplete. I could hear the shrieks and the television of the people next door. The person at the reception was devoid of personality. I was told that I had to give 40 minutes notice if I needed my car, even though the car park is said to be only 3 minutes away. What’s that about? Wifi costs, which I consider seriously unacceptable, when you can get it free at Burger King. There was a dead atmosphere about the place. I would never return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Readyroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    349
    182
    92
    51
See reviews for
119
578
44
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Location is the best asset of this hotel.
It looks good from the outside but the inside is a bit characterless. We had booked a standard room and it’s exactly what we got – standard as in average – nothing to write home about but nothing to complain about either. Our room was clean and quiet and we slept well. The staff was polite and made our stay run smoothly. We appreciated having access to a sauna, which is usually a facility we only find in more upmarket hotels. Valet parking was also a bonus. Basic and a bit bland but reasonably good value; we found this hotel to be a good base from where to explore the city and the beautiful county of Shropshire.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed on Saturday night for a family get together and booked 4 double rooms on DBB rate
To our great surprise we found that we had been upgraded to suites which was fantastic!
The rooms were all obviously individual and beautifully furnished, very comfortable with fluffy towels in the bathrooms
We had dinner in the main restaurant and we were well looked after by Dan who helped make our party a special night for us all
Breakfast was a treat too. As for me a first, as I chose haddock - on most occasions hotels put fish on the menu but seldon have it!
This hotel actual had a choice of kippers and haddock which was amazing
Naturally the rest of our party chose the full English which looked good too
Overall we loved the hotel and found the only negative was the lounge later in the evening to be a bit cooler than we would have liked

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2011

An unplanned overnight stay in Shrewsbury in January. The fair haired receptionist was friendly and efficient, and the free valet parking was a bonus considering the hotels very central location. The room however was very small and dated. The modern flat screen tv was almost unwatchable from the bed as it was on a perpendicular wall. The bathroom had nice towels but nothing else. There was no complimentary soap or shampoo, which I did not have with me as it was an unscheduled overnight stay. We passed on the restaurant which was entirely empty at 8pm and instead got directions to the Golden Cross which was outstanding for dinner. Wish we'd booked a room there.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerspictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Smith.
we are a group of friends in our 40's, we do a city break at least twice a year. we stayed here and had 3 rooms between us.
all rooms were Individual and beautiful.ly presented, they were full of Character.
staff were very attentive, friendly and polite.
breakfast was really good, full english, cereal, pastry, fruit whatever you want
I would have to say ,go for one of the suits, its so worth the extra.
we have stayed at many hotels, up and down the country. mostly for business, and at least twice a year with our friends. this hotels would be one of our top ten.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Nice stay.good area.staff was all very pleasant. Hotel was very impressive for a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadecdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Our room, although at the back of Hotel, was very clean (no fluffy skirting boards!) and the bathroom, although dated, was spotless as was the bedding. Towels were huge and fluffy.
The lovely guys in the Chambers restaurant were very helpful and friendly, but we could not say the same for the Hotel staff. The receptionist in particular was quite stand-offish.
That apart, we had a very pleasant stay on the whole.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallfeature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
3.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Rupert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert Hotel

Property: Prince Rupert Hotel
Address: Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Rupert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase. Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano. Valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park at a cost of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Rupert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrewsbury Hotel Prince Rupert
Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Hotel Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Prince Rupert Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing