We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th time back!!”
Review of Pitchford Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitchford Estate
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We love this place! My family and I meet up with old university friends every year and have an ever growing number of kids.
We started off at windy Mundy and moved onto stockbatch when the kids were older as the play barn is fantastic for them to run around if the weather is against us!
We have tried other places but keep coming back to stockbatch as it fits our needs perfectly.
Is it a bit tired round the edges now? Yes.
Does that matter to us? No! In fact it's better for us as if we chose a 5 star luxury hotel we would not feel that the kids could enjoy themselves as much and we wouldn't be able to relax either.
We love the charm of the place and the kids loved the sheep and lambs this time round.
Stockbatch is highly recommended for large groups of friends / family with children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Pitchford Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had such high hopes of this place, it appeared to have everything we wanted - ensuites for all of the party, plenty of room, peaceful location, and finished to a high standard. On first looks it seemed great, but then all the little niggly things became apparent. Lack of cleanliness, particularly in the kitchen, a dish washer that never got cleaned out so did not work properly, an achingly slow oven, beds that were like lumpy bricks, nowhere to hang your clothes and no where to hang your wash bag either. Not that we brought any posh clothes, but there was only a single hook in my room on which to hang stuff and if I did, then the hanging items got in the way of my passage to and from the bed.
After choosing to give up my brick bed, I migrated upstairs to a beautiful room with a softer bed, but not only was the bath in the room with me, but so was the loo. And I do mean in the room, no separate bathroom. What was more disconcerting was the loo was under the low window, and although it was unlikely that anyone but sheep would be looking in, I felt very exposed when using this most necessary of facilities. This was made ever more so by the window opposite which gave me a clear view into the farm windows, so presumably they could also see me on the throne!

I think the wiring was either a DIY job or done by a trainee electrician as the switching was decidedly odd. An attempt had been made at 2 way switching but had not been successful so some light switches were completely isolated by others and meant that if you turned off the lights at one end of the corridor, they could not be turned on again by the switch at the other. This was true of the lounge as well.

The potential of this place is huge, as it is very lovely indeed, in a beautiful spot with sheep and swallows, open fields and glorious views, and a large enclosed grassy garden area which was a sun trap. However, it appears to be unloved and uncared for, with no attention to the details. I really think the owner should spend a night in each room and see what works and what singularly fails to work, as sadly, now there is a lot that needs taking care of.

If you want luxury, this is not the place, but if you want something shabby (without the chic), and plenty of space for a family gathering with all the kids, then this just might suit. Don't go with hopes of something glorious (other than the views), and you won't be disappointed, except perhaps that the cost of renting the property does not now accurately reflect the state of it (and here I assume that it once did).

Room Tip: All rooms have a shower except for the upstairs one in the east wing which has a bath and loo in the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MackerelSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N, Owner at Pitchford Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Unfortunately the dishwasher broke down during the stay. A new Bosch dishwasher was rapidly installed in the property. A new cleaning team has also been taken on to ensure that there are no cleanliness issues in future. We are also bringing in a professional laundry company to improve the quality of the towels, sheets, etc. As you say Stockbatch Granary is a lovely property in a beautiful spot and we will work hard to improve our guests' experience. We're glad you enjoyed the swallows, sheep and glorious Shropshire views and hope you'll return to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Absolutely stunning, peaceful and quiet location. Such a shame that the attention to detail has been lost. 7 double bedrooms, all en-suite. Huge dining kitchen with seating for a dozen. Unfortunately the oven seems to take too long to warm up, the dishwasher doesn't clean dishes properly and there are bits of the kitchen which really need adeep clean.

Dishwasher tablets and toilet rolls Rationed, and no soap in the bedrooms. Small details but if you're paying this much then i think you should either expect to know or have these provided.

In the lounge, the sofas are comfy but very shabby. The beds are not all as comfortable as they could be, and the towels are bleach stained in more than half the rooms. All of which is fine in your own home, but needs an upgrade when you are booking accomodation which you're paying for.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank goodysidno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N, Owner at Pitchford Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your comments and your point about Stockbatch Granary being in a stunning location. We will look at the oven to ensure it is working correctly and we're also introducing a range of soaps for guest which are made locally by a family business based in the Shropshire Hills. The dishwasher has now been replaced with a new Bosch one and a professional laundry company will shortly be providing better quality sheets and towels. We very much hope you will return and see the improvements that we have made at Stockbatch Granary and the Shepherds Hut.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here for a birthday party in December, 2011 with friends.
This cottage is gorgeous, beautiful untouched surroundings and ample of room for a large group.

Rooms all lovely and cosy.

Would 100% stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dibdobmichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at Stockbatch Granary for 10 days in June. We were unlucky with the weather but struck gold with the accommodation.

Our party was small, only needing half of the available bedrooms, so we had our pick. All the same, had we needed them all, no one would have been deprived of comfort or luxury.

The huge lounge is spectacular with exposed beams, arched windows, oversized sofas and wood fire. Similarly, the dining room is magnificent with floor to ceiling windows and massive dining table. Photographs on the web site don't really do justice to the facilities.

The games room was a revelation. Table tennis, football and basket ball in a converted barn is something special in a holiday rental, particularly as it rained most days. A great place to play with Norman the Red Setter too!

When the weather allowed, we had some wonderful walks around the farm and through the woodlands.

All in all our expectations were hugely exceeded at Stockbatch Granary and our concerns after reading other reviews were unfounded. The only thing we can fault is the access lane which is nearly a mile long and a bit of a trail.

We would definitely come to Stockbatch again but next time we'll bring a bigger party and make fuller use of the magnificent facilities.

Room Tip: Such a variety of rooms and mini suites. We stayed in room A, with two double beds, a cot, free stan...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have stayed at Windy Mundy on several occasions over many years, and have always had a great time there.

Windy Mundy is in a magnificent location, deep in the Shropshire countryside, and has spectacular views. Sitting in the main reception with an open wood fire on one side, and the Long Mynd and Welsh hills on the other is an unbeatable place to be on a lazy Saturday afternoon. The ability to have twelve or more adults in a single location where they can get together round one table and yet still find a quiet corner to hide away in is v. rare, and makes it a special place to be,whether that be hiding away in winter, or enjoying the surrounding countryside in the summer.

I shouldn't forget to mention the wood-fired sauna, which is the perfect place to end up after a long cold wintry-walk.

All-in-all, one of my favourite English country retreats.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I have stayed at Windy Mundy several times now and absolutely love it. It is set in some of the most beautiful countryside and the views across Shropshire are truly wonderful. The house layout works really well for large parties (especially the grass forecourt where children can play in full sight of the adults) and we loved dining en masse and playing games in the incredible sitting room in the converted barn that boasts a 10 meter plus hanging fire place and great gallery.

During our trips there we have visited some wonderful local pubs and there is a good riding school nearby.

I cannot recommend this place enough especially if you are booking a large family gathering or a weekend away with a number of friends and their families. To top it all you have to love a place with a wood fire sauna!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rupert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shrewsbury
0.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
359 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield
3.4 mi away
The Inn at Grinshill
The Inn at Grinshill
#1 of 1 in Grinshill
131 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitchford Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitchford Estate

Address: Shropshire, Shrewsbury, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The thousand acre Pitchford Estate is a dairy, sheep and arable farm with extensive woodland located six miles south of Shrewsbury in one of England's most rural counties, Shropshire. The Estate is home to Windy Mundy Farm, Stockbatch Granary and Tree House Barn, three spacious barn conversions available as holiday accommodation for groups of up to 16, 14 and 4 respectively. With stunning interiors and an idyllic location, these properties offer a country escape that we hope that you'll love as much as we do ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitchford Estate Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing