We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good weekend stay with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Cannock
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good weekend stay with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here saturday night on travel zoo vouchereith friends. Was not sure what to expecct as read reviews, We were really pleased, the room was very cosey bed clean and comfortable bathroom very clean. We had evening meal which was very well served by very nice staff food excellent we all had different mains and all were excellent.sweets to die for well worth the wait .After reading about the worst breakfast well it was served in lovely room all you could wish for cooked breakfas twas ok just the sausages were under cooked but plenty on plate to make up.Once again served by very pleasant staff. All in all very nice stay most enjoyable , if you want to be in the middle of town just the place.

Room Tip: we had room 101 even though was on front was not a noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normskidabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    299
    182
    51
    45
See reviews for
85
427
43
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Very tired and worn out furniture and carpets ,one of the worst cooked breakfasts I have ever experienced in any hotel, 30 minute wait for it to be served so you would expect it to be fresh but it was not .No mention that it costs £10 to park car until you check out.Receptionist never even asked if we had enjoyed our stay! Toilet cistern not working in bathroom .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gfs12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

After having our wedding reception here 22 years ago and approaching 50 we decided to return for a treat.
Little had changed apart form a few new carpets perhaps?! We were given a room along the side of the hotel which overlooked Henry Tudor House - quite a noisy bar but we coped with that. Lots of creaking floorboards in our own room as well as the room above, but you have to expect that from such an old hotel.
Breakfast was served in the room we had our reception in all those years ago so that was nice and the cooked breakfast was good.
Room was small, but suited our needs, but I do think the 108 quid is quite over priced. I am not sure if the owner was in the bar - hope he was cos he helped himself to a beer from the bar, but if he was I thought he and his family were out of order hogging the open fire! Oh and the recycling bin being moved over the cobbles at 06.20hrs didn't help sleep quality!
Towel rail not working in the bathroom, which I reported.
All in all and ok stay and Ian am glad we finally did it.

Room Tip: Ask not to be at side of hotel next to Henry Tudor house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rixy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

The creepy floor boards been doing our heads on all night we turned tele up can put up with the noise outside talking but really can't see us sleeping all night there's a pub next door I now it's Xmas but its the crekybfloor boards we paid 100.00 for this with a meal but this is a night mare

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lwhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Such a historic hotel dinner superb .breakfast one of the worst I have attempted to eat , nice sofas by a log fire staff indifferent , just needs the manager to make a few tweaks here and there ,beware they empty the bins at 6 a.m on Friday morning so you will not need a morning alarm call .Charles Dickens and Darwin stayed here think we had there towels

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

The hotel is great for exploring Shrewsbury being right in the centre and easy walking to some great pubs. The parking is very handing for a town centre hotel. OK, the hotel is a little tired and need of a modernisation of the rooms especially the bathroom I had, but it makes up for it in its quaintness. The staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant which was superb - good quality food in an atmospheric surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dursley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Having just spent two days at the Lion I have come away with mixed feelings.
The Lion has bags of character and history by the bucket load. Atmosphere is lovely.
On the downside, however, it does have some minus points.
The carpet in the bedroom was very dirty.
Breakfast was, at the best, average.
Thin walls made it possibe to hear your neighbour's coversation (I know that the age of the building makes this a problem).
Overall, I would like to stay here again, as the position in the town is ideal and parking on site is a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forbesDursley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Address: Wyle Cop | Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade 1 Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn & Hotel. The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality we are located in the heart of the beautiful historic town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. The Lion Hotel combines stunning 16th Century architecture with every classical comfort. Famous for its warm and friendly hospitality and traditional character, the hotel is perfectly situated to enable guests to enjoy all that this unique area has to offer. Our 59 bedrooms which include standard doubles, twins and singles as well as suites, each have their own unique character and include all the comfort and facilities you would expect. The Hayward Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner and offers a quintessentially British menu with a few subtle twists, using fresh local ingredients. The Oak Bar offers a more informal dining option and is open all day for teas and coffees, homemade cakes, healthy light bites, delicious lunches and exceptional value dining. The hotel has a number of outstanding function rooms including the magnificent domed Adam Ballroom; creating a very special atmosphere for events including Weddings, Christmas Parties, Private Dining and Conferences. Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar and lounge areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Shrewsbury
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury By Compass Hospitality Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing