We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$61
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Hill Hotel(Shrewsbury)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveller rating
307
390
221
73
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
390
221
73
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharles dickenshayward restaurantcreaky floorboardscar parkhistoric hotelcoaching inntravelzoo voucherlovely old hotelold buildingwyle copglass of proseccoon site parkingsteeped in historycourse mealhigh streetcentre of townlounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
896 - 901 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We booked the Lion Hotel on a special offer for two nights B&B plus one evening meal.
The room was a little dated but very comfortable and reosnably clean. There was a good powerful shower and a bath.The breakfast was decent with a choice of either cooked or continental.
The staff were quite friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located in the centre of Shrewsbury within easy walking distance of shops, bars etc.
Be aware that the Hotel does charge an additional £10 per night for parking
The best part of our stay was the excellent meal and wine at the restaurant. I can honestly say that it was the best meal and service I have experienced in many years. So, even if you choose to stay at another Hotel, I would recommend you try the restaurant at the Lion

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Ended up in Shrewsbury great town well worth a visit, fantastic shops.
Just watchout for the PHANTOM mobilaty scooter man, he got me in a hit and scoot.
Hotel was in my budget, and poached eggs spot on.
Owner and Staff very freindly,and the hotel has real history.
Slept well and had a bath not a silly shower.
Hitched off clean and smelling sweet.
Will return

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were bought a weekend in this hotel for Christmas. And we weren't at all disappointed! The open fire was fab, and food in the restaurant was excellent (although it was fairly empty, which was a shame.) Breakfast was good too, the veggie version was nice and a good selection of other options.

The character of the hotel was my favourite part- the floorboards were squeaky, yes, but the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. The atmosphere was just lovely, and it couldn't have been more central! We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrandMrs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

we got adeal on kgb for this hotel for 89£ it wasent even worth that and certainly is not worth over 200£ which its meant to be.first of all if you had a ship and it was sinking you think you might try to help it stay afloat,not the staff here.the girl on the reception was training and the lady training her was not much help,when we first arrived no one asked us if we would like help with our luggage,no porter in sight anyway,you would excpect it from a hotel of this era.no one told us what time breakfast was,or where to find the resturant.no one asked us if we would like to book a table for dinner(glad we dident as resturant was empty both nights)or even offered a special meal deal. the bed was atiny double which i have never seen in a hotel before, the hotel was almost empty but they gave us a noisy room,where both nights the bins where pulled across the cobbles at 5 30 am then people were banging the kitchen door.the room hospitality was dismal one packet of biscuits between two of us no hot chocolate or differant flavor teas.next morning the contiental breakfast had three slices of camenbert and three slices of dried up ham on a plate not coverd and looked as if they had been there all week,considering there is the most marvelous cheese shop four doors away,you ask yourself why?,we were not even asked if we would like more tea or toast. the only thing we purchesd was two cups of coffee(mud)it was the worst cup of coffee i have ever had, any passing trade would never go in again. the biscuit that arrived with it wasent even a shrewsbury biscuit, you think they could have used there imagination and cashed in on this idea.mind you the sign outside offering coffee is not even spelt right.this hotel will go down the pan if the staff carry on ignoring the little things that could make this hotel great because of its location.by the way the leaflets for information about the area were very poor as well, we had no idea of where to go about shrewsbury because of this.watch theres a new big premier inn opening around the corner i would start thinking about how to rescue this lovley old hotel before its too late.

Room Tip: dont get one above kitchens
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIPO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed from 2nd Jan 2012 for 3 nights in a 'De-luxe' room. The room was lovely. Three peice suite, king size bed, TV and full bathroom. Room was at the side, so no High Street Noise.
Ate in the bar at lunchtime. Excellent sandwich with Fries, only £4.95.
We ate in the Hayward restaurant. I can see how it achieved the Rosette Awards. Unbelivelable food and presentation, and service was second to none. Very knowledgable and friendly staff.
The only downside is, the whole place does in places need a fresh lick of paint. But Would thoroughly recommend it, and go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the side quieter as not facing the main High Street. There is a lift so no worry about stairs, unless you are not by 23:45 or out before 06:45 when the life is switched off as noisy. Due to the age of it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews