We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lion Hotel Shrewsbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Spent 2 nights in a standard room which was very large and comfortable. The room could be described as shabby chic, I guess, which was totally in keeping with the age of the hotel. Our room overlooked the busy mainroad but traffic noise was minimal and the curtains were almost "black out" curtains allowing us a long lie. The bathroom was immaculately clean, with perfect mastic around the bath and no trace of dust etc on pipes or skirting boards. The flooring would have been nicer with tiles but at least there wasn't carpet! Breakfast was good but the cooked full breakfast could have been more generous. The staff could have been more aware of the polite guests who were waiting to be seated and perhaps have told them more quickly, to sit anywhere in the magnificent Lion room.
We walked up the road for dinner at the Rococco which was a trendy place to eat opposite the Prince Rupert. It was lovely, on a cold wet February night. We returned for drinks by the fire at the Lion.....lovely! The second night, we walked out the hotel and turned right. We walked about 10 paces and turned into a lane signposted for Henry Tudor House. What a fantastic place! Beautifully decorated in a warm, ancient, yet very contemporary style with amusing "oil" paintings on the walls.We are keen music lovers and were amazed to see that Scott Matthews was playing here in April. After drinks, we returned to the Lion and ate in the cosy wood-panelled bar. The Spanish waitress was lovely and the bar food excellent.
We stayed 9th and 10th feb and then moved on to a boutique hotel in Bath......considerably more expensive but I have to say the standard room here, was every bit as good.(the carpark was a bonus too)

Room Tip: Room 101 (yes 101!) "Sidney" standard yet huge, was fine and it was looking out onto the m...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicmanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
There are newer reviews for The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

The first thing you need to bear in mind with ths hotel is that it is old! That is it's charm! you will get creaky floorboards all through, but that is more than compensated for by the old world charm of the place.

Staff - throughout all were freindly, helpful and attentive.
Room - well furnished, and comfortable. We were in room 108 which looked out onto the back. The windows were old and so a little ill fitting but fine.
Food- we dined in the restaurant, and I cannot fault the food. It was lovely, although the service was extremely slow, but not the end of the world. We refused to pay for coffee as what we were served did not look like a gaelic coffee! but no hassle it was not put on the bill.
We spent a while in the lounge with a drink and book early evening and that was lovely, although as is usually the case in hotels, the free wifi was very hit and miss!! I ended up harnessing my phone to get access.

This is a lovely hotel, with a real old world charm. If you want a modern, clean, sterile hotel this is not for you. If you want somewhere that has character, even down to the creaky lift! this is for you. Centrally located to all areas, and ideal if you are on foot.

Will definitley consider a return trip in the future.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 108, not a great view, but at the back so very quiet. You could not leave the win...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

stayed for two nights B&B in this lovely old hotel, rooms have been modernised and had everything you could wish for. Yes the floorboards creak, yes the lift is noisy and yes it has lashings of charm you will never find in a ''boutique'' hotel. Second time i have stayed here when in Shrewsbury and i will stay here next time, lovely well maintained old hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxmad080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed for two nights B&B and enjoyed the experience. This hotel is ideally located for exploring Shrewsbury and the surrounding area. We dined at the bar on the first night and the food was good, above standard and reasonably priced. The room was small and comfortable (yes, the floor boards do creak, but I think it just added to the character and history of the place). The hotel staff are approachable and friendly, however on Sunday morning at breakfast they did struggle due to the large amount of guests at breakfast (not their fault, but management). I would be happy to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joesLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had a deal so the price we paid for BB and evening meal was good. Bedroom was a reasonable size and was at the back so was quiet. The bed was very comfortable
The TV for the size of room was, however, tiny and the bathroom extractor fan so loud you didn't wish to linger in there longer than was absolutely necessary.These are the only negatives.
We found the staff very friendly and accommodating as I needed to move our booking to the following week. The location right in the middle of Shrewsbury superb and the food very good.
I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ones at the back are very quiet
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidaymadSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I recently organised a daytime meeting and themed event in the evening. The hotel team were incredibly accomodating and made everthing from start to finish a pleasure. The staff were warm and welcoming and the historic interiors and the grand adam ball room made for a really special evening, that I'll never forget.

Room Tip: I loved my room at the front of the hotel and wouldn't change it for the world:)..if you are a l...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Historyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We were in Shrewsbury yesterday and took advantage of the 3 course lunch offer for 2 at £25.There is plenty of space in this convivial hotel and the dining room tables were sparkling with shining cutlery.
We were well looked after by Micky from Hungary who certainly knows his job and puts his customers at ease.The food was very good ,a bargain with the Travel zoo voucher. and we were both fully replete after our sweet course.We had a window table and watched the world rush by as we tucked in to our succulent steak.Will be there again soon

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnh186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
636 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
0.3 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Shrewsbury
681 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality

Address: Wyle Cop | Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £62 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade 1 Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn & Hotel. The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality we are located in the heart of the beautiful historic town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. The Lion Hotel combines stunning 16th Century architecture with every classical comfort. Famous for its warm and friendly hospitality and traditional character, the hotel is perfectly situated to enable guests to enjoy all that this unique area has to offer. Our 59 bedrooms which include standard doubles, twins and singles as well as suites, each have their own unique character and include all the comfort and facilities you would expect. The Hayward Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner and offers a quintessentially British menu with a few subtle twists, using fresh local ingredients. The Oak Bar offers a more informal dining option and is open all day for teas and coffees, homemade cakes, healthy light bites, delicious lunches and exceptional value dining. The hotel has a number of outstanding function rooms including the magnificent domed Adam Ballroom; creating a very special atmosphere for events including Weddings, Christmas Parties, Private Dining and Conferences. Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar and lounge areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Shrewsbury
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury By Compass Hospitality Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing