We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
galashiels
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a coach party. The public rooms have lots of character, appropriate to the age of the hotel. My room, although apparently recently modernised, looked dated. The carpet has seen many better years. The bathroom had no window, was very small and there was only a trickle of water from the shower.
The food was ok but not great.We were on a limited choice menu and the first night it took 2 hours for our three courses. The second night my friend and I asked to eat early and the service was much better as was the presentation.
Breakfast was fine although I didn't realise that you could still get tinned grapefruit and tinned mandarin segments! On the first morning I asked for scrambled eggs and smoked salmon (which had a price supplement). They had no smoked salmon. I asked for it again second morning and this time they had it. My friend asked for black pudding and they didn't have any.
When I paid my extras bill in the morning i asked for the hotels brochure as I thought I would come back sometime and bring my husband. The hotel has a wonderful central location and there is so much to see in the area.
However, after coming back from an optional excursion with our group, to pick up the rest of our people, I was told by one of our group that there was a problem. Two bed throws were missing from our room. I went back into the hotel and spoke to the receptionist. She said that the housekeeper had checked the room before we arrived on Tuesday and that there were two bed throws. She said that when she checked it after we had left there were none. I told her that at no time during our stay were there bed throws. The receptionist said she would have to speak to the manager. Wen she came back, she again said that there were two bed throws missing. At that point I again told her that there had never been any throws in the room and that she was very welcome to come and search the entire coach. Then the housekeeper came up and was asked about the throws. With nothing more than a cursory shrug of her shoulders and a not very apologetic 'sorry' she admitted that perhaps she hadn't checked the room on the Tuesday of our arrival after all. I do not take kindly to being accused of theft and if I do go back to Shrewsbury I will be looking for alternative accommodation!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Main Street are noisy with traffic passing. The third floor has very poor water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timeoutgalashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    300
    182
    51
    45
See reviews for
85
428
43
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
262 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife and I had a thoroughly good lunch here today. The hotel is in lower Wyle Cop, quite close to the River Severn and Tanners Wines. It is an old hotel and somewhat quirky in a charming sort of way.

The dining room is large and traditional in that the 20 or so tables are all covered in white linen tablecloths and sport linen knapkins. Silver cutlery, free water with ice, and friendly, courteous and efficient staff. Our waiters were both foreigners - head waiter from Rumania, with faultless English. The decor was pleasant: old fashioned; damask wallpaper and neutral carpeting. The piped music was soft and non-intrusive.

A good varied menu consisted of some six starters, 6 main courses and 6 starters. The wines all come from Tanners and are thus guaranteed to be enjoyable...by the glass or by the bottle. Beers include lagers and real ales that include Hobsons.

The food proved to be delicious: clearly the chef knows his job and takes pride in cooking and presenting the food very well. We enjoyed fishcakes and prawns as our starters, rib-eye steak and belly of pork as our mains, rhubarb and strawberry compot as puddings. The only fault I found was with the dry chips and their presentation (on a slate board). The couple next to us also thoroughly enjoyed their meal and the dining experience.

Recommended for good lunches!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Recently attended a wedding at the Lion having not visited for 3 or 4 years, and having heard the place is in administration but not sure as to this rumour. Still full of old character and charm with lovely seating areas and a couple of bars downstairs. Staff are very hit and miss, with long periods where everyone vanishes.

The food for the wedding was actually very good, and coupled with this, had a few nice wines on the list which we tried. However, within a couple of hours the entire hotel had run out of ice so fine if you were sticking with wine or beer, but not good if you wanted a gin and tonic! Expensive is the next word to best describe the evening, and I really dont mind so much if you are getting what you pay for (Libertines do amazing cocktails) but for bog standard spirits and warm mixers with no ice is a bit much!

A couple of friends stayed overnight and were all underwhelmed by the accomodation, should be so much better as wonderful hotel in great location but needs someone like the new owners of the Henry Tudor to come in and work their magic!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jollymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We spent 2 nights here on a kgb deal. the hotel is bang in the centre of Shrewsbury, a very old building with lots of history. our rooms were fine, clean and quite spacious.Very creaky floorboards, but it is an old building. The public areas are a bit "tired" and grubby looking, but the bedrooms and the room that breakfast was served in were clean and bright. Staff were friendly and helpful although it seemed at times that they could have done with more of them on reception. Wifi is available in reception area but not in the bedrooms, which is a bit frustrating in this day and age. Car park charge is a bit of a negative. breakfast was good, lots of choice. All in all, for what we paid, good value.( We ate in "The Henry Tudor" just behind the hotel and it was very nice.)

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and were disturbed by bin collection, but the front may be noisy with pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We had Sunday lunch at this remarkable hotel, it was history in every beam and cornerstone and it was a genuine pleasure to go where the likes of Darwin and Dickens have gone before. My food was very good - the roast beef was actually a lovely sirloin steak with well cooked vegetables and a splendid yorkshire pudding. The service was friendly but needed improving - especially in an establishment like this - the waitresses struggled to understand English and my meal was served about fifteen minutes ahead of the rest of the family. At the end neither waitress could operate the till and paying by credit card involved an escourted trip to reception. So some better staff training is needed and it would have been appropriate to have table service.

Room Tip: Only ate at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

As others have said, this is a lovely hotel and I would recommend it to any one. But again as everyone has said, the breakfast staff really need to be addressed and managed. One person for each job rather than them all working together. I looked into the kitchen and saw everyone just standing round. 1 person would take the order, 1 person would bring out tea, 1 person would clear a table, 1 person would cook the breakfast and 1 person would make toast. Why all staff can't do all jobs is beyond me. That aside, there are plenty of places to go for breakfast, one is just outside the back door 'Henry Tudor House' so the breakfast staffs lack of experience should not put you off from staying here as when it does arrive its okay. The hotel is a really large, Tudor style lovely hotel slap bang were you want to be in Shrewsbury with parking (£10 for entire stay) outside the side door and everything a stone throw away. Recommended, I will return and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benappetit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Lunch on Saturday was good value. Food was tasty and served hot. Beer was good. The bar area is well lived-in and the tables old and worn. The lounge is castle / country house type decor with club chairs and tapestries on the walls. It was quiet cold this Saturday and could have done with a fire in the hearth to warm the place up. At first sight the hotel looks in need of doing up and is living on its past glories, and they are some glories - Darwin and all that. In fact, it was actually rather nice not to have a credit card machine in the bar, and therein lies its charm.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Address: Wyle Cop | Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade 1 Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn & Hotel. The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality we are located in the heart of the beautiful historic town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. The Lion Hotel combines stunning 16th Century architecture with every classical comfort. Famous for its warm and friendly hospitality and traditional character, the hotel is perfectly situated to enable guests to enjoy all that this unique area has to offer. Our 59 bedrooms which include standard doubles, twins and singles as well as suites, each have their own unique character and include all the comfort and facilities you would expect. The Hayward Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner and offers a quintessentially British menu with a few subtle twists, using fresh local ingredients. The Oak Bar offers a more informal dining option and is open all day for teas and coffees, homemade cakes, healthy light bites, delicious lunches and exceptional value dining. The hotel has a number of outstanding function rooms including the magnificent domed Adam Ballroom; creating a very special atmosphere for events including Weddings, Christmas Parties, Private Dining and Conferences. Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar and lounge areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Shrewsbury
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury By Compass Hospitality Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing