We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARM WELCOME, GOOD FOOD, NICE STAY, BUT A BIT FADED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“WARM WELCOME, GOOD FOOD, NICE STAY, BUT A BIT FADED”
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights Xmas shopping in December. Dripping with historical connections, and once a part of Trust Houses, now privately owned, it has to be said that it is a bit faded, and the owner has a terrible seaside landlady taste in wallpaper! Nevertheless, we had a nice stay. We had a warm welcome. Relaxing in the bars and lounge in front of roaring wood fires, eating perfect fish and chips with local ales, was perfect on a cold winters night. If you judge a hotel by its' breakfast, then this would get 10/10. A good buffet, and the whole range of stuff individually cooked and served in a nicely furnished dining room. We didn't dine in the restaurant, as the food served in the lounge was just fine, and the open fires were too attractive to miss. All in all, a good stay, but could do with a bit of renovation in the bathrooms etc. And, replace the awful wallpaper with something more in keeping with the hotels' period character. Tip. If you are travelling from London, take the Wrexham and Shropshire Railway from Marylebone. They do a travel and stay deal and you get the room for a fraction of the direct booking price. Upgrade to first class and you get a pretty decent train meal thrown in. Travelling on the renovated ex BR Intercity trains is a real treat.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBandleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    340
    200
    61
    50
See reviews for
104
476
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for 2 nights we were greeted with a warm welcome ,and did have a bit of a laugh with the amount of stairs we had to go up and down to our room but did not bother us but could see it being a bit of a problem for older guests the room was very nice and of good standard and size we enjoyed the breakfast and is cooked to order which is nice and fresh not lying around . Ww were out till 1am on sunday morning and the only thing i would say is the hotl did not iform us that we had to use the side door rather than main door . A lovley place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pops79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed at the Hotel as a Xmas present from our son. We arrived on the Friday afternoon so as to be able to go to a 60's night at the Severn Theatre. The Merseybeats and The Searchers...superb.
Our room as very comfortable although the floor boards creaked everywhere so hope there was no room beneath us! Towels and room extras were excellent. We did not have dinner there as we ate at Theatre. However we found the breakfast excellent and I had a full vegetarian breakfast. Nice to see a hotel that knows what vegetarianism is!
All the staff were courteous and efficient. The ONLY bad point about our stay was the location of the hotel on a busy hill with continous traffic. Walking to the Theatre was a nightmare with all the traffic but hotel staff indicated may become a pedestrian area in the future. Let's hope so.
All in all a lovely place and will certainly return.
ps: bar prices were very good

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deggars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

lovely old hotel,tired in some areas,,everyone complaining about excessive heating. supposed to be double room,only 4ft bed,friend had single room with bigger bed!!!!!! shower not working. lovely food very tasty,but very small portions,like nouvelle cuisine of 20 years ago. waiters were very good & attentive. nice to have freshly cooked breakfast to order. realised when i got there it was hotel where we spent 1st night of our honeymoon,over 40 years ago,quite sentimental. would go back as long as they change bed size.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantmawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I use the Hotel fairly frequently with friends for a meal but not because of the meal alone. I am drawn to the relaxed atmosphere, armchairs and the fact that it doesn't get packed with people.
The portions are always of minimal quantity. e.g. £8.00 plus for fish, chips and peas. The fish is always well cooked and fresh but the chips you could almost count on the fingers of one hand. A tad more portion of each would go down nicely Mr Hotel owner. I also have an issue with the extremely strong and bitter coffee served. A change to a more palatable bean wouldn't go amiss. One of the nicest choices of food I used to enjoy was the Thai Curry, which is now missing off the lunch menu. When I asked why, I was told simply that the chef wasn't going to put it back on......strange if it was popular and again, at £8.00 plus for a small portion of curry and an equally small portion of rice, it couldn't have cost that much to produce. These......comments.....are easily addressable by giving the customer just a little more value for the money they pay.
The quality is not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet-charlie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Hoping for a special meal in the restaurant. Medium rare steak was well done, the portion size was tiny, really tiny, a few carrots, a few green beans, a little bit of white flavourless stuff - possibly turnip, 4 boiled potatoes approximately the size of large marbles. I would have been disappointed if the meal had cost £10 but at £18.50 I felt angry. The cheeseboard consisted of 3 thin slithers of delicious local cheeses and cost £6.95. Previously we'd eaten here at lunch time and had 2 good value and tasty meals, fish and chips and soup and sandwiches. This made the evening experience even more annoying. The service was very peculiar, a foreign waitor who attempted to be amusing at every contact and failed every time. The surroundings are lovely but the whole experience could be summed up in one word - Crusty.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We've stayed at this hotel twice previously and love its location and ambience but complained about slow service before.
My mother-in-law booked the hotel for a family meal and we chose to stay for the night. Lovely room, though only two sets of towels, ditto cups, left for a 3-bed room.
Not all but most of the food was overpriced for the quantity and quality and service very slow - 3 hours for a 3 course meal. One main course was replaced and the replacement was not charged for, although the original main course was. Considering all the problems we had (meals without their advertised accompaniments, tiny portions, slow service, etc) we were still charged full price for everything, even though our dissatisfaction was brought to the attention of the head waiter.
I wrote a letter detailing all our grievances and have still had no reply a month later.
It's a real shame that such a lovely hotel is being let down by poor service and food. Sadly, we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonMum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
634 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.1 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
350 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Address: Wyle Cop | Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade 1 Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn & Hotel. The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality we are located in the heart of the beautiful historic town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. The Lion Hotel combines stunning 16th Century architecture with every classical comfort. Famous for its warm and friendly hospitality and traditional character, the hotel is perfectly situated to enable guests to enjoy all that this unique area has to offer. Our 59 bedrooms which include standard doubles, twins and singles as well as suites, each have their own unique character and include all the comfort and facilities you would expect. The Hayward Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner and offers a quintessentially British menu with a few subtle twists, using fresh local ingredients. The Oak Bar offers a more informal dining option and is open all day for teas and coffees, homemade cakes, healthy light bites, delicious lunches and exceptional value dining. The hotel has a number of outstanding function rooms including the magnificent domed Adam Ballroom; creating a very special atmosphere for events including Weddings, Christmas Parties, Private Dining and Conferences. Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar and lounge areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Shrewsbury
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury By Compass Hospitality Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing