We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't ask for more in a B&B”
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sydney House
Ranked #19 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for more in a B&B”
Reviewed 20 January 2008

A fantastic breakfast, lovely room, huge bed, great facilities very warm welcome. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    79
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
69
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

I stayed here for three nights in cold November. But the room was very warm and I felt comfortable there. It's about a 10 minute walk from town. I found the people friendly and the service good. Breakfast was very good and quite a bit more than I could eat. The decor was a bit faded and the bathroom floor was cracked and not maintained well. But the big downside was that my en-suite bathroom was tiny and I had to sit sideways on the toilet! Overall, I'd recommend the hotel as a good budget stay.

  • Liked — Good price for what you get
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodenbachRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

Great little place, comfortable walk to town, on-site parking, very helpful staff and terrific breakfast. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Liked — friendly staff, great location at right price, breakfast
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2005

It has Les Routiers badge and breakfast was good. Shower kept going cold and was v weak (room no.5). Paper thin walls. Welcome was nice. Decent value at £50/room/night.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsw1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2004

Really nice hotel, stayed here right in the middle of winter when it was really freezing. Hotel was lovely and snug and warm and the bedroom was very cosy and comfortable.

The people who run it were very nice, polite and helpful.
Not too far distance from town centre, great if you like a riverside stroll.

All in all, great value for money.

Helpful?
7 Thank HolidayHoney82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.7 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
0.5 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#3 of 55 in Shrewsbury
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hambrook House
Hambrook House
#4 of 55 in Shrewsbury
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Property: Sydney House
Address: Coton Hill Coton Crescent, Shrewsbury SY1 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Hotel Shrewsbury
Sydney House Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing