We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, good location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sydney House
Ranked #19 of 54 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at sydney for 3 nights, great location for the town, nice friendly staff and lovely breakfast, the room was comfortable, however, not entirely satisfied with the towels or bed linen which could do with replacing....The carpet in the dining room was also matted with pet hair, and not acceptable...especially in an eating area..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    78
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
68
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for 3 days in mid July for a family wedding. Our room was a double in an attic room which was small and extremely hot ; I know it was a heatwave but I think it would be a warm room anyway, and the bathroom was small too. However, the bed was most comfortable, and there was a well stocked tea and coffee tray with biscuits. There were lots of clean white towels daily, and the room was spotlessly clean.The breakfast was really good, freshly cooked to order, as well as good juice, cereal, yogurt, and great coffee. It is a 10 minute walk to Shrewsbury town centre, so it's a central location. We would stay here again, but we would request a better room ; which I had spotted through an open door, a larger room with a queen sized bed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. We were facing the street ; there was noise from the pub across the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I only wanted somewhere economical to sleep after a long day supervising a works project in the town.
My expectations were surpassed. I arrived late morning just to drop off my case and thence to commence work. So few hotels permit such early arrivals.-I could hear them hoovering!
I came trudging in very late so did not do an in depth inspection.
The room was small yet quiet & well appointed. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate & biscuits provided. Ensuite with soap and shampoo dispensers.
The following Sunday morning I was due out for work very early-no problem for the owners who opened the kitchen early just for me providing, not the quick "portable boxed breakfast" I had requested but the full works-yoghurt, cereals, prunes, apricots, grapefruit, copious coffee & choice of juices followed by a breakfast menu [I gratefully had the LARGE FULL ENGLISH to sert me up for the day!] plus toast.

OK....some parts of decor might look slightly tired but everything is really clean and tidy.

Oh how I wish I had found this gem of a hotel before having often paid over the odds for tatty rooms with little or no food or other facilities. I travel throughout the country so I know.

The owners are a real delight as is their little dog. I shall return when next in the area!

Room Tip: The owners listen to the customer-remakable but unusual in my experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB-from-Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed at Sidney House for one night. Room was comfortable with a lovely bed. Bathroom had bath and shower and there were ample tea and coffee making facilities. Full English breakfast was served and was good. There was a lounge and bar for residents, but it was locked the night we stayed. Location good, short walk into town. Shrewsbury lovely, especially gardens and floral arrangements generally.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed at Sydney House Hotel for 4 nights. The room was not large, but it was cosy, clean, fresh and warm! The owners were very friendly-ready to help at any moment. The location is good, close to the town center, parking facilities available.
The breakfast was good-english breakfast/fruits/cereals.
All together-very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragosh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed for one night. It is located outside of the city centre but it only took us 10 minutes to walk in.

The area lovely and quite so not disturbances at night. The hotel is quite old but we found it to be very clean. The tea/coffee tray was very well stocked. Shampoo and soap dispensers in the bathroom. The mattress on the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely with choice of fresh fruit, cereals, any combination of cooked breakfast. The staff were very friendly as was the resident Westie

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugWimborne_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We wanted a place to stay for a couple of nights that was just a short ten minute walk to the station and the town centre. Sydney House was very comfortable, friendly and provided a good breakfast. It is also very reasonably priced. The room was not large but that did not bother us as it had everything we needed. A slightly larger wash basin would have been welcome. We will try to book here again when we next visit Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#5 of 54 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Property: Sydney House
Address: Coton Hill Coton Crescent, Shrewsbury SY1 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Hotel Shrewsbury
Sydney House Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing