We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sydney House
Nearby Hotels
US$176
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$158
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
56
83
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
83
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb btown centreshampoo and soapfacilities neededtea and coffee trayfirst floorfull english breakfastrashers of baconsingle roombreakfasts were greatoff road parkingchoice of cerealsminute walkiron and ironing boardyogurtquiet at nightgood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

we found the rooms small, but very clean . it was ideal for us as we only stayed a weekend .we only came across one moody staff who was not happy we ate our own food in our room . but they do not do evening meals so i feel we should not have been made to feel bad about it

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brionynpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Traditional Bed & Breakfast located 10 minutes walk from Shrewsbury centre. Stayed in top floor room (7), up two flights of stairs which wasn't a problem for us. Room clean and comfortable (3 single beds) although a little noisy with windows open! (Traffic on a busy junction). Hearty breakfast, with plenty of fruit, cereals, and full cooked breakfast. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff (and small dog), but we didn't witness any unwanted dog smells/hairs as mentioned in other reviews.
Would recommend this hotel and would stay again when visiting Shrewsbury

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janrockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Comfortable bed - room moderate size. As usual in this sort of establishment in the UK it pays to travel light as 2 flights of narrow stairs to climb with your cases - although also as usual the staff/proprietor are very willing to help.
The full English breakfast was fine - my wife's beans on toast (much simpler) less so with dried beans and slightly burnt toast. The tea was incredibly strong - be warned.
Walking distance to town - on a fairly busy junction but not too noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAusDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great stay at Sydney house B&B stayed for 2 nights
breakfast full English means FULL English yum, was right on the button you could also chose from cereals Tea / coffee, it wasn't a problem for more tea.
Room was spot on, cleaned each day with new white towels, staff friendly and very helpful,
all in all we had a great stay here..................dog friendly, we took our dog, who needed an emergency vet and the staff found an out of hours for us, thank you...............
close to the town, well with in walking distance on street parking

Room Tip: we had the top floor room didn't experience any issues, did have a look in to the other rooms all look very comfortable.........
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ls_decorators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at sydney for 3 nights, great location for the town, nice friendly staff and lovely breakfast, the room was comfortable, however, not entirely satisfied with the towels or bed linen which could do with replacing....The carpet in the dining room was also matted with pet hair, and not acceptable...especially in an eating area..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews