We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly welcome”
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sydney House
Ranked #22 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really friendly welcome”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We arrived 8th March and was shown up to our room by a very friendly young woman, but it was on the 2 nd floor not good for 73/79 yrs. old, but ...they weren't to know that when we booked.

Nice room lovely white towels, plenty hot water great tea tray etc. Attention to detail needed though as we had 2 windows in bedroom and 1 in bathroom and all 3 were missing a catch to close them. There was only 1 catch on each and as it was a very windy day/night there was a draft from the window over the bed. I packed it with towels and it was then ok.

We had the most amazing breakfast in fact there was so much choice it was quite unbelievable. Freshly cooked and well presented again by the same nice young lady who welcomed us to the hotel. so would recommend this hotel but ask for the first floor if you can get it.

Room Tip: We were room 7 on the 2nd floor also street light shone into it.So I would think 1/2/3. I assume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojoLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    81
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
71
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had a really nice stay here for one night after a trip to the theatre in Shrewsbury. Cost us £29.50 each for an en suite twin room. It was very nice and we'd happily stay here again. Very friendly host, lovely cooked breakfast and even got veggie sausages. The room was very clean and whilst it wasn't luxury it had everything we needed, including a small bath and an over bath shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just spent a very enjoyable night at the Sydney house hotel, excellent value for money and only a short walk into town. The bed was so comfortable, had an excellent night sleep then breakfast this morning was unbeatable. Would definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senrab74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A late review - stayed here for 2 nights in September 13. I had the top room facing the pub & down the hill. The room was great, had two good nights sleep and a good breakfast each morning along with a good welcome. Town within walking distance, but if you're driving the centre gets fairly rammed in rush hour so if you're working on the other side of Shrewsbury you need to factor that into your journey time. Pound for pound it's probably the best value B&B in Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank insectseige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

What impressed us most: the warm, helpful welcome; the tasty and plentiful breakfast; the handy location - 10 minutes walk to the centre; everything you could want in the room including iron, ironing board and alarm clock; the price! OK the décor is a little tired, but everything else made up for this. Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I went to Shrewsbury to watch the Shrews vs the Blades as a birthday "treat". The football was pants as usual but the rest of the weekend was great.
We picked the Sydney house for our Saturday night stay after reading the reviews on T.A. And we were not disappointed.
We arrived early but we were given a warm welcome and let into our room. The room was snug ,clean and had a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was as good as I ve had for a long time , and was assembled with very good quality produce.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the town. And is a stone s throw from three pubs. The closest is The Woodman which is just a nice friendly boozer with a welcoming landlord and a good pint.We did nt have time to try the other two , but they both looked nice..
The town its self is like a mini York, but with out the stupid prices and, with its castle ,museums ,churches and some cracking old pubs is definitely worth exploring .We plan to go again in June for a weekend on our anniversary. And , yes , we ll be stopping at Sydney house.

Room Tip: Dont worry about the room , just look forwards to that brekky in the morning>
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goanblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Only one night but enough to convince that another longer stay would be great. Big room, overlooks road but quiet. V large bed - plenty of room and a bath which is always apreciated by the other half!. WiFi works well. Breakfast outstanding - we were told this in advance by the pub over the road!

Hope you solved your water problem quickly!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creakingbones62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
0.8 mi away
Abbots Mead Hotel
Abbots Mead Hotel
#13 of 16 in Shrewsbury
179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hambrook House
Hambrook House
#4 of 56 in Shrewsbury
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Charnwood Guesthouse
Charnwood Guesthouse
#30 of 56 in Shrewsbury
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#20 of 56 in Shrewsbury
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#12 of 56 in Shrewsbury
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Property: Sydney House
Address: Coton Hill Coton Crescent, Shrewsbury SY1 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Hotel Shrewsbury
Sydney House Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing