We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sydney House
Ranked #23 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Comfortable room shower/toilet a bit small but functional just 5 mins walk to centre.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
Hosts friendly and knowledgeable
. Would definitely visit again.
There is a great real ale pub just across the road that's worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHARLES J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here for one night with a couple of friends over the weekend. It was a good central meeting point as I was travelling from the south and my friends from the north. The rooms were perfectly adequate for our requirements. Beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. Parking free and a good 20 minute walk into the town for eating and shopping. Super breakfast cooked to your requirements with a good selection of cereal and fruit. I don't usually stay in B&Bs as I have children but its a good choice for staying on your own or with friends.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BritsonanOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We arrived 8th March and was shown up to our room by a very friendly young woman, but it was on the 2 nd floor not good for 73/79 yrs. old, but ...they weren't to know that when we booked.

Nice room lovely white towels, plenty hot water great tea tray etc. Attention to detail needed though as we had 2 windows in bedroom and 1 in bathroom and all 3 were missing a catch to close them. There was only 1 catch on each and as it was a very windy day/night there was a draft from the window over the bed. I packed it with towels and it was then ok.

We had the most amazing breakfast in fact there was so much choice it was quite unbelievable. Freshly cooked and well presented again by the same nice young lady who welcomed us to the hotel. so would recommend this hotel but ask for the first floor if you can get it.

Room Tip: We were room 7 on the 2nd floor also street light shone into it.So I would think 1/2/3. I assume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojoLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had a really nice stay here for one night after a trip to the theatre in Shrewsbury. Cost us £29.50 each for an en suite twin room. It was very nice and we'd happily stay here again. Very friendly host, lovely cooked breakfast and even got veggie sausages. The room was very clean and whilst it wasn't luxury it had everything we needed, including a small bath and an over bath shower.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just spent a very enjoyable night at the Sydney house hotel, excellent value for money and only a short walk into town. The bed was so comfortable, had an excellent night sleep then breakfast this morning was unbeatable. Would definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senrab74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A late review - stayed here for 2 nights in September 13. I had the top room facing the pub & down the hill. The room was great, had two good nights sleep and a good breakfast each morning along with a good welcome. Town within walking distance, but if you're driving the centre gets fairly rammed in rush hour so if you're working on the other side of Shrewsbury you need to factor that into your journey time. Pound for pound it's probably the best value B&B in Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank insectseige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

What impressed us most: the warm, helpful welcome; the tasty and plentiful breakfast; the handy location - 10 minutes walk to the centre; everything you could want in the room including iron, ironing board and alarm clock; the price! OK the décor is a little tired, but everything else made up for this. Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbots Mead Hotel
Abbots Mead Hotel
#13 of 16 in Shrewsbury
184 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
1.2 mi away
Lord Hill Hotel
Lord Hill Hotel
#14 of 16 in Shrewsbury
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#18 of 56 in Shrewsbury
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anton Guest House Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Charnwood Guesthouse
Charnwood Guesthouse
#24 of 56 in Shrewsbury
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Address: Coton Hill Coton Crescent, Shrewsbury SY1 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £56 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Hotel Shrewsbury
Sydney House Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing