We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely B&B close to Shrewsbury's historic centre”
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sydney House
Ranked #23 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was a quick stopover, a late arrival and early getaway, but Shrewsbury was a good choice for that and this hotel was even better than good. A most friendly welcome, good, though old-fashioned rooms with good facilities, our host pointed us in the right direction to dine in Shrewsbury, ten minutes pleasant stroll away, and not so easy after 20:30 on a Monday! It was a reasonably quiet place to sleep despite being near to a busy-ish road and traffic lights.
Special mention for the full English breakfast, which set us up for the whole day. Several regular customers appeared to be happily tucking in, too!
Good value and location.

Room Tip: There is noise from traffic quite early in the morning: Shropshire has early risers! Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for a night when we visited the Flower Show. We were more than happy with our choice it offers comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Positioned about 15 mins walk into town we will certainly return if we visit Shrewsbury again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Susie2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at Sydney House for 2 nights- a traditional style B&B in a great location about 10 mins walk from Shrewsbury town centre.

On arrival we were greeted pleasantly by the owner who showed us to our room on the first floor- a well presented, clean and compact room with everything we needed for our stay, plenty of fresh towels and a welcoming tea and coffee tray. We did notice however that the room had some kind of slight damp issue, with some staining on the en suite ceiling and also inside the wardrobe- so maybe the room is due for a revamp sometime soon. The beds were very comfortable and the traffic noise was blocked out when the window was closed, so we had a good nights sleep on both nights.

Breakfast was served between 8 and 9 am and was indeed very good- there was a large selection of cereal and fruit, plus the usual cooked breakfast option of course- I was somewhat disappointed to receive 'chipolatas' with my full English on the first morning, but thankfully 'proper' sausages were served on the second morning.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Sydney House but encountered a couple of rather quirky episodes during our stay too....for example when my partner requested another toilet roll she was informed by the staff member that they would have to 'check we have a delivery due now'- I mean I would be somewhat concerned if her peculiar remark wasn't actually a joke, and they had indeed run down to their last toilet roll! Also, it's not really a great idea for a staff member to be heard shouting 'YOU B****' at the resident dog, even if it had decided to do it's 'business' in the hallway or whatever it had done, as paying guests could obviously be coming down the stairs at any time!

We found Sydney House to be a comfortable and convenient place to stay, albeit complete with a few quirky but amusing episodes!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rusty_1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Went for a day trip to Shrewsbury (a saturday), but ended up wanting to stay, wow what a busy place because the nearest available hotel/B&B was Telford ( 13 mile away) so tried phoning a few places to see if they had had a cancellation and after 35 mins online & phoning my luck was in as the Sydney House had received a last minute cancellation.
Location was a 5 minute walk to the railway station & about 7-10 minutes to town, also within 100 yards of 3 pubs, get in there!!!!!!!
Private off road parking, Good rooms and ensuite facilities, FANTASTIC FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST, including cereals, fruit and juices, very reasonably priced which included the breakfast.
One downside (which will be rectified soon, by being removed) a clock radio in the room which had an audible tick tock, i slept ok because im 80% deaf in my left ear and sleep (naturally) on my right so i didn't hear a thing (including the missus whinging lol).
Had a great experience so intend to select here for a full weekend in the near future to explore more of the town.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank santo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a spotlessly clean, comfortable B& B. The Owner Alistair couldn't do enough for us. He even helped to carry one of the bikes panniers up to our room, which was an immense help. We were able to park the motorbike securely at the back. Breakfast excellent. All in all I Highly recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aggietours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a three night mid-week stay at this delightful B&B. We had a small but comfortable room at the top of the house, which was clean and well furnished. The staff / owners were all very welcoming and helpful. The full English breakfast really sets you up for the day, and it is a nice 10 minute walk along the banks of the River Severn to the start of Shrewsbury Town centre. The hotel's off road parking is a god-send being so close to the town centre. Recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Small comfortable room clean and tidy. The breakfast is Excellent, easy access for the town, very friendly staff we recommend it for any one looking to visit Shrewsbury.A taxi fare into or from town is reasonable als plenty to see and find interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodp186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbots Mead Hotel
Abbots Mead Hotel
#13 of 16 in Shrewsbury
184 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
1.2 mi away
Lord Hill Hotel
Lord Hill Hotel
#14 of 16 in Shrewsbury
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#18 of 56 in Shrewsbury
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anton Guest House Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Charnwood Guesthouse
Charnwood Guesthouse
#26 of 56 in Shrewsbury
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Address: Coton Hill Coton Crescent, Shrewsbury SY1 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £56 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Hotel Shrewsbury
Sydney House Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing