We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, good food and drink, another one for earplugs though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, good food and drink, another one for earplugs though”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Lion & Pheasant for 2 nights in July, the hotel is newly renovated and very tastefully decorated. There are tea and coffee facilities in the room, with little homemade biscuits, nice toiletries, slippers (which you need for the sisal carpets). The rooms are light and airy. The beds are comfortable, huge fluffy towels, our bathroom was a little cosy but served the purpose. If you have a front facing room you will need earplugs because of road noise. The hotel has lots of stairs and no lift, and the staff were not forthcoming in offering help with luggage, so unless you are fit and travel light, room access could be difficult. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we would go back to spend more time in Shrewsbury, and to try more of the delicious food and tempting cocktails served in the bar and restaurant at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the window open, ask for a quiet room or take earplugs. If you cannot cop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jopwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    176
    65
    18
    6
See reviews for
51
378
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Booked for one night for a celebration in Shrewsbury. Very handy to get to the town centre on foot and close enough to to make it back again!
Good bar and lovely seating area.
Comfy bed, lovely room, peaceful sleep. A great choice for breakfast if your'e up for it in the morning.
Well worth the room cost - no taxi fares in and out of town to pay.

Room Tip: Don't just book on-line, m ake the effort to book by phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GABJLCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We don't do reviews. Often read others but never have the time to do it ourselves... But we have got to say just how chic and classy this humble facade donning boutique hotel offers. We stayed for one night on the 29th June and within minutes of arriving within the reception and bar/dining spaces of this hotel we were so pleased. Such superb attention to detail. After 8 years in running a boutique style furniture business we felt completely outclassed and took major note of so many design influences and interior design elements they have selected. Will most definately be returning and will not stop talking about this place to friends and family for a while. Hannah on reception offers a relaxed check in and check out service all effortlessly delivered with a personal touch. The only mistake we found in the hallway leading to the reception was the 3* rating that this accommodation seems to have been officially recognised with....I can only assume this is related to tick box mentality employed by the ratings agencies/tourist boards. If you are thinking about booking this, go with your gut instinct and take a chance, I would be highly surprised if you go on to regret it. Food spot on by the way. £10.95 for a gourmet burger dressed to kill with fries that looked they had took an age to prepared to perfection...which, it most certainly was. Thoroughly impressed all round.

Paul & Nicky R.
Stratford on Avon

Room Tip: If you're not used to much space at home, their snug double will do the job but a cosy is a more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulRStratfordonAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in the Lion & Pheasant and were really impressed.

The bedroom was lovely and clean, modern and had little finishing touches such as slippers, toiletries etc. We had a front room on the high street, which was a bit noisy, but didn't mind as it was a last minute booking that we were grateful for.

The hotel was really clean and modern. The receptionist at check-in showed us to our room and the staff at breakfast were very attentive.

Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice of continental and cooked options. This hotel really adds finishing touches like a caraffe of orange juice waiting for you on your table on arrival.

Location was excellent, within 5 minute walking distance of shops and restaurants.

The bar area was fantastic and had a lovely atmosphere with the modern decor. Drinks were presented beautifully and there was a great cocktail list.

The only critiscm we had was that different bar staff charged different prices for the same drinks - differing by £2. There was an offer on the chalkboard on cocktails (half price after 10pm on Saturday) so we ordered one and were charged full price. When we questioned this and checked the board we noticed that the half price offer had been wiped off the board! It had been on there at 8pm before we went out for a meal but when we returned it was really busy and they were charging full price to other customers. The barman looked a bit sheepish and said yes it should be half price.

I complained to reception in the morning who took my complaint seriously. I wouldn't let that stop me staying there again as that aside the hotel was amazing but unfortunately for that reason alone I can't give it a 5/5 rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveHolidayinglots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

we stayed for a weekend intending to see Shropshire and couldn't move away from the Lion and Pheasant. Super room, spotlessly clean and minimalist neutral colours, the staff were terrific and couldn't have been more polite and engaging, both in the Bar and in the restaurant.
The Breakfast in bed has to be tried, it was prompt (around 10 minutes) and hot with perfectly cooked poached eggs. We ended up having lunch in the bar which was well priced and good. Dinner (both nights) was superb (I can recommend the lamb and the crab). The service was really excellent in spite of the restaurant being fully booked. And the prices are keen and comparable with others in Shrewsbury. We will only stay at the Lion and Pheasant when we return to Shrewsbury.

Room Tip: choose a room at the back of the Hotel as traffic noise can be intrusive at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for one night last week and had a really enjoyable break. Location is great - easy walking distance into the heart of Shrewsbury. Downside to this is that the hotel is on a main road which we didn't mind. If you ask for a room to the rear of the hotel, you can hardly hear the traffic. Our room was clean, well appointed and tastefully decorated. Don't worry about booking the snug doubles - there is still plenty of space. Some of the rooms only have en-suite shower rooms, so if you want one with a bath, make sure to ask when you book. We ate in the restaurant during the evening and it really was super. The service was professional, from the bar staff to the waiters. They were knowledgeable about the ingredients but didn't bother us too much with detail. The separate vegetarian menu was a real treat! The wine list was reasonable and not too expensive. Breakfast the next morning was equally as good. Fresh kippers (not boil in the bag) and eggs benedict were really tasty as well as fresh fruit, pastries and lots of toast and coffee. Word of advice - it does get quite warm in the dining room so leave your jumper in the room! Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room at the back, snug double is big enough, ask for a room with a bath if you want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hometime3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We enjoyed a very good weekend at the Lion and Pheasant, rooms were pleasant and airy with all the amenities. Excellent food and very good service. The staff were overall very accommodating and pleasant. The exception being on the morning that we were leaving and I think that they had the Z team on!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs and quite noisy at the front of the hotel on the Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
645 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#10 of 16 in Shrewsbury
339 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion + Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Property: Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion + Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following major renovations in 2010, the Lion + Pheasant has re-opened as Shrewsbury's most stylish townhouse hotel, bar and restaurant. A unique combination of timeless elegance and contemporary design makes this AA three-star historic inn the perfect destination for an evening out or a longer stay - whether to unwind after a day of busy meetings, or to while away a relaxing weekend in Shropshire's most beautiful county town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lion + Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury
Lion And Pheasant Shrewsbury
Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing