We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
382
193
68
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
193
68
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suitenarrow entrancecar parklovely hotelroad noiseenglish bridgeno lifteggs benedictold buildingdouble glazinglight sleeperboutique hotelwine listwyle cophomemade biscuitsstayed for one nightlovely atmosphere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I can only say that if you are looking for accommodation in Shrewsbury you must book the Lion and Pheasant - everything about it was superb - staff, service, restaurant, bar and rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

2nd time to this hotel,just as good as the first time,all staff lovely,we only ate breakfast and it was much better than last time,compy bar area, small outside beer garden,we were in room 20 this time room facing the English bridge,no problems with the traffic,the bathroom could do with having a little bit of TLC,small shower cubicle plenty of hot water,toiletries,slippers iron and board in the room at no extra cost,also 2 bottles of Fizzy water. Rooms clean and compy,towels changed daily,The L @P is a lovely hotel we paid £115 b&b 2 people for one night.There is free parking to the rear of the hotel which is a bonus the entrance into the CPark in narrow all in all a lovely time spent there and we would visit again.

Room Tip: Room 20 good for people watching
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finney19903008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Lion & Pheasant for 2 nights in July, the hotel is newly renovated and very tastefully decorated. There are tea and coffee facilities in the room, with little homemade biscuits, nice toiletries, slippers (which you need for the sisal carpets). The rooms are light and airy. The beds are comfortable, huge fluffy towels, our bathroom was a little cosy but served the purpose. If you have a front facing room you will need earplugs because of road noise. The hotel has lots of stairs and no lift, and the staff were not forthcoming in offering help with luggage, so unless you are fit and travel light, room access could be difficult. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we would go back to spend more time in Shrewsbury, and to try more of the delicious food and tempting cocktails served in the bar and restaurant at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the window open, ask for a quiet room or take earplugs. If you cannot cope with narrow steep stairs, this hotel is not for you sorry.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jopwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Booked for one night for a celebration in Shrewsbury. Very handy to get to the town centre on foot and close enough to to make it back again!
Good bar and lovely seating area.
Comfy bed, lovely room, peaceful sleep. A great choice for breakfast if your'e up for it in the morning.
Well worth the room cost - no taxi fares in and out of town to pay.

Room Tip: Don't just book on-line, m ake the effort to book by phone.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GABJLCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We don't do reviews. Often read others but never have the time to do it ourselves... But we have got to say just how chic and classy this humble facade donning boutique hotel offers. We stayed for one night on the 29th June and within minutes of arriving within the reception and bar/dining spaces of this hotel we were so pleased. Such superb attention to detail. After 8 years in running a boutique style furniture business we felt completely outclassed and took major note of so many design influences and interior design elements they have selected. Will most definately be returning and will not stop talking about this place to friends and family for a while. Hannah on reception offers a relaxed check in and check out service all effortlessly delivered with a personal touch. The only mistake we found in the hallway leading to the reception was the 3* rating that this accommodation seems to have been officially recognised with....I can only assume this is related to tick box mentality employed by the ratings agencies/tourist boards. If you are thinking about booking this, go with your gut instinct and take a chance, I would be highly surprised if you go on to regret it. Food spot on by the way. £10.95 for a gourmet burger dressed to kill with fries that looked they had took an age to prepared to perfection...which, it most certainly was. Thoroughly impressed all round.

Paul & Nicky R.
Stratford on Avon

Room Tip: If you're not used to much space at home, their snug double will do the job but a cosy is a more practical solution if you want more space...the lofts look great but probably best left for a special occasion as there is a qualifiable premium to pay. The high street side of the hotel is typically noisy with traffic from early on, but no real biggie..
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulRStratfordonAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews