We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my second stay at the Lion & Pheasant and I'm already looking forward to visiting again at some point in the future. Everything about the place is absolute fabulous, with special mentions for the staff, food & sheer quality of the rooms.

I'd agree with some previous contributors that there is a slight issue with traffic noise, but I've certainly stayed in far noisier places.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Comfortable and well appointed bedrooms in cool and calming colours, with some great stylish quirks. Excellent and busy restaurant with delicious food. Would definitely recommend, and would return if in the area

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnothernameScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was looking forward to my first trip to Shrewsbury. Finding this hotel was easy and it looked the perfect setting. I did have a few misgivings before arriving as booking in advance for the weekend was confusing from the start!
My room was very noisy (limited sleep for 2 nights) because it faced the main road. I learnt afterwards that some rooms were provided with ear plugs but no such luck for me.The food and service in the bar and restaurant were both very good.
However, I cannot recommend this hotel to others because I was there for a wedding on the Friday and Saturday evenings and staying for a wedding buffet lunch on the Sunday at 12 noon. We were charged for a late check out at 11. 30??? £25. Surely the front of house staff knew we were all there until 12 and beyond. The guests that weekend spent loads of money in the bar and restaurant don't you think they could have wavered the late charge?? What a shame they had to stick to policy and not see the wider picture.

Room Tip: not facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di22452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great hotel - lovely stay. Rooms are lovely, if a little small. Location is great, right in the centre of Shrewsbury so everything is just a short walk away. Food was outstanding - don't miss the restaurant! Certainly one of the best meals we've had in a long while and easily on a par with some of the best in London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eadaoin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we found that the hotel has been refurbish to a very high tasteful standard while still retaining its quirkyness. central location for the centre of shrewsbury. bar was very smart and busy. all the staff extremely friendly and helpful. breakfast superb. hotel spotlessly clean

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pogontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We treated ourselves to dinner, B & B, having enjoyed a couple of lunches here in the past. Our initial room didn't have a bath, so we were upgraded, at no extra cost, to a lovely light and spacious room, with generous sized en suite. And bath!
Can't praise our evening meal highly enough - superb food and excellent professional service. Really recommend this hotel for the food and the lovely Scandi-style decor.

Room Tip: Only two of the rooms have baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jej59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Clean and uniquely designed hotel. Superb staff Chloe and Tom were helpful at every level. So enjoyed our stay and the delicious breakfast! The location in Shrewsbury was just perfect. Would love to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stpetegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
472 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#10 of 16 in Shrewsbury
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion + Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £107 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion + Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following major renovations in 2010, the Lion + Pheasant has re-opened as Shrewsbury's most stylish townhouse hotel, bar and restaurant. A unique combination of timeless elegance and contemporary design makes this AA three-star historic inn the perfect destination for an evening out or a longer stay - whether to unwind after a day of busy meetings, or to while away a relaxing weekend in Shropshire's most beautiful county town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Lion + Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury
Lion And Pheasant Shrewsbury
Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing