We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small friendly hotel with friendly and helpful staff and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for over a week in June and found the Lion and Pheasant ideal. It was easy walking distance from the center of Shrewbury and our room was clean, comfortable, light and airy. The building is certainly "quaint" with sloping floors, exposed beams and so on. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful in all parts of the hotel. For example as they knew we had travelled a long way from overseas they volunteered to do a bag of laundry for free. The included breakfast is great value and set us up well for the day. The evening meals are excellent and the bar area is very pleasant and popular but not crowded. We will certainly stay there again when visiting Shrewsbury which itself is a very nice town and a great base for scenic trips in Shropshire or to North Wales. The weather happened to be very pelasant and it seemed the whole area was posing for photographs:)

Room Tip: Best to request a room not facing the street.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Lion + Pheasant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Lion and Pheasant is an unusual building – very unusual. To get to our rooms we went up stairs, and down and up again. Fascinating but tiring.

When we arrived (there were three of us) we were welcomed very warmly although our rooms were not quite ready, we had arrived earlier than anticipated. Nevertheless that staff were very obliging and friendly. Points scored for that. The rooms themselves were quite small but homely.
Sleep quality wasn’t too bad although we had sleep with the windows open, as the weather was warm. This meant some traffic noise.

Location - it was good, right next to the English Bridge and at the bottom of the hill that leads into Shrewsbury town centre. That road was closed during our stay and it was a bit of a blessing because we had to do a U-turn to gain access to the hotels’ very small car park, the ancient gate and passageway was only just wide enough for my car.

Breakfast was very good and cooked to order. And we had one evening meal there and that was truly excellent, beautifully cooked and presented and at a reasonable price.

All in all a very nice stay and I would go back.

Room Tip: Entrance to the hotel car park is from the town side through a narrow 'tunnel'.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here last month for a night on the way to Wales and were so glad we did. We arrived late and the kitchen was about to shut but they couldn't have been more accommodating to us. The food was simply delicious with a lovely little amuse bouche to begin with. The room was light and airy and although on the road was not very noisy. Even if it had been they had gone to the trouble of providing ear plugs but we didn't need them! The reception team were also really helpful and always had a smile on their face.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clarissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend. We thought it was lovely and the rooms were just perfect. It had great atmosphere and was busy both nights we were there. We had an evening meal here the first night, however, the service was actually very slow, waited a total of over two hours throughout the three courses, but when each course eventually arrived, they are all lovely and the staff were very friendly and apologetic to us. The breakfast's we had were also amazing as well, with large portions. So overall, a lovely hotel with great atmosphere, and very friendly staff. Another downside we could mention is that if you come to this hotel in the summer, the rooms are very hot, which happened with us and was quite difficult sleeping. The rooms were very nice though. Think this hotel would be great in the winter as well as summer. I expect that there would be log fires around the bar and reception. So we will come back to this hotel one day. We can recommend this to you.

Room Tip: We had three rooms booked between the six of us, and they were all very nice. They can easily get ve...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nbruce62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have now been to the L&P twice. The first was for a wedding last year - there were only 40 guests (with named seating) and yet the head waitress walked around with a printed spreadsheet asking what we'd ordered, then the SLAB of pork (approx. an inch thick) appeared it was so unappealing and difficult to cut "daintily" that I ate the remains of my toddler's sausage and mash. Thinking this was a one off, my friend and I went a few weeks ago for her birthday treat - we had to wait nearly an hour for our starters to arrive and whilst we were sent complimentary bruschetta - we'd already had bread with our starter. The staff stood at the top of the stairs near our table and chatted. And half my steak was undercooked. So for two g&t's, a bottle of sparkling water, two starters & mains it came to £75. Wish I'd spent my money elsewhere in town.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel as the rooms on the high street can be noisy with pedestrian...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buffarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night and had been pre-warned by telephone that road works were scheduled for the Sunday morning and that it might be noisy in the early morning, which was a kind thought. The ads state that the hotel has free parking on site but it fails to state that this is extremely limited. As we did not arrive until about 7pm, the car park was full. The friendly receptionist directed us to the NCP opposite but it would have been nice to have at least been offered a discount for the parking charge.Our room was lovely and well equipped, clean and full of quirky furniture and fittings-we really liked it. The shower was a little disappointing. It seems such a shame to spend on a refit and then to install cheap bathroom fittings. All the staff were pleasant and friendly and the atmosphere in the bar was great. We enjoyed a nightcap there on our return from our evening out-highly recommended. The breakfast is really excellent with a lot of choice-well done!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the street as these have great views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea_K186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel delivers every aspect of your stay at an exceptional level. The decor, room comfort and facilities, restaurant and overall service levels are superb! It is no more expensive and in a lot of cases better value than many hotels I use for business stays.

What a great breakfast!

Many thanks and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AJC767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,166 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Shrewsbury
681 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
359 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion + Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £94 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion + Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following major renovations in 2010, the Lion + Pheasant has re-opened as Shrewsbury's most stylish townhouse hotel, bar and restaurant. A unique combination of timeless elegance and contemporary design makes this AA three-star historic inn the perfect destination for an evening out or a longer stay - whether to unwind after a day of busy meetings, or to while away a relaxing weekend in Shropshire's most beautiful county town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Lion + Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury
Lion And Pheasant Shrewsbury
Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing