We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were incredibly friendly and thoughtful - a special mention for Megan who was just lovely. The food in the restaurant was very good indeed and the service faultless despite being short staffed that evening.

Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. It was above the kitchen so a little noisy at times. Next time we will know.

Thoroughly recommend this place if you want something that is stylish and different.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which was above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel is fabulous and quirky - wonderful stay for our wedding anniversary. Room 14 was airy, clean and comfortable with tea, coffee and homemade biscuits to greet you on arrival.. We would highly recommend staying here.. Staff are attentive and friendly, room was spotless and comfortable.. We did not eat dinner but we had a room service snack which was fabulous.. Breakfast was exceptional - hubby tried the scrambled eggs on the recommendation of other travellers and he was not disappointed - he agreed they were the best he had ever had. The power shower was just perfect and the bed was soo comfortable... Location is a brisk 5 minute (uphill - remember downhill on way back) walk from the centre of Shrewsbury...

Room Tip: Room 14 - large and airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank GL4Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Our car broke down we had to stay the night. Not looking our best the welcome at a very relaxed reception! Wasn't as welcoming as it could have been! Our room had a double aspect top floor view of the street and river which was lovely. It could have done with a thorough clean... Dust ....and the unmentionable hairs on the bathroom floor! Bed linen crisp and clean.
Supper in the bar area was excellent and entertaining watching the young batman helping himself to the peanuts and lemonade, mouthfuls of wine and beer constantly.
Service was attentive.
Breakfast excellent but again rather a lackadaisical attitude.
Staff could all do with a pep talk!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5504Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in, stylish, shabby chic, modern with fantastic candle lit ambiance!

Wine, local biscuits and water in the room as well as a free cocktail token! Fantastic comfortable beds, huge showers, clean new slippers!

Rooms were lovely homely and cottagy felt like I was safe and warm.

Food was outstanding! An absolutely world class dinner!

Can't praise the politeness enough! Even the toilets had every additional extra a lady would require! Such a shame it was a one off id come back tomorrow if it was closer!

Thanks a lot from 4 happy ladies x

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mancsteph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is a lovely place, great rooms, service and a fab restaurant. We had amazing food. The location is great to wander around Shrewsbury and it is very easy to get to. We will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Booked in here for a short break to shrewsbury. Looked lovely on the Internet and did not disappoint in reality. Booked via mr and mrs smith and were given a free half bottle of wine on arrival. The car park is very tight and it is advisable to approach from town rather than the bridge. Once in we got a parking place which was great so close to the town centre. The hotel is ideally placed right on the wyle cop and a short walk to the shops and town centre. We had a drink in the bar on arrival as we were a bit early and the receptionist came to tell us when our room was ready. Bit of a trek to the room along maze like corridors. We did find a better way down via the restaurant which was handy and really good for dinner and breakfast. Staff were accommodating and helpful. Booking taxis for us etc. We ate in the restaurant and it was really good. The breakfast was also very high quality with a very good selection of cooked options. The restaurant is light and very stylishly decorated as is the whole place. Our room was a vision in cream and white overlooking the river. If was light and airy with voile curtains over blinds. The sash windows all opened and it was lovely to look out at the river. You are very near the centre of town but noise wise it did not bother us at all, and I sleep with the windows open. The beds are very comfortable with lovely soft duvets and pillows. Can't really fault it. Would definitely recommend and would visit again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shazzer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed at the Lion & Pheasant with friends for a quick 'get away' short break. Good location in relation to Shrewsbury itself and easy to access from out of town. Parking is behind the hotel - but be warned it is VERY tight in terms of access into/out of and actual manoevre space. Once inside a very pleasant and calm environment - very 'chic' without being pretentious. Lots of character & charm but with a modern twist. Bedroom we had (no.22) was right at the top of the building and would be very difficult, not to say impossible, if you had restricted mobility. Bedroom itself was very clean and everything you could want - including good quality towels etc. My only criticism was that in some areas the carpet could've done with a bit of spot cleaning or shampooing and the window dressing really needs to be proper black out blinds to enable sleep! Food wise - very nice restaurant with lovely varied breakfasts - we ate just one evening meal which I have to say was suprisingly 'under-whelming' in terms of quality - soup flavouring (bland) and quality - portion size of vegetarian option. That said there are plenty of places to eat in Shrewsbury itself. Very extensive wine list (very expensive too) - but nice cocktails served with canapes etc. Very civilised!
Overall I was suprised that this is not a 4 star rated hotel - and wouldn't hesitate to recommend for quality, value & service.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be slightly noisier than others due to location and overall would present a considera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katfish_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
698 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#10 of 16 in Shrewsbury
365 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion + Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £98 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion + Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following major renovations in 2010, the Lion + Pheasant has re-opened as Shrewsbury's most stylish townhouse hotel, bar and restaurant. A unique combination of timeless elegance and contemporary design makes this AA three-star historic inn the perfect destination for an evening out or a longer stay - whether to unwind after a day of busy meetings, or to while away a relaxing weekend in Shropshire's most beautiful county town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lion + Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury
Lion And Pheasant Shrewsbury
Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing