We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Lion + Pheasant

Lion + Pheasant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lion + Pheasant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 353 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We only stopped off here for drinks but the staff were really friendly and the place was great, really trendy and definitely somewhere we'll visit to eat,

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynseyWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    108
    46
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had dinner here. Bookings are essential since they were packed. The menu does change constantly depending on local ingredients available (apparently). Excellent food menu with extensive wine menu since they are supplied by Tanners wine merchant (which is incidentally across the road from here.) Obviously there is a triple mark up in price for wine since it is a restaurant.
Service was very good with bread and amuse bouche included before your starters. Food was presented very well and more importantly tasted excellent.
For 2 people with starters and main and port and coffee along with a good bottle of wine came to just over £90 including tips but almost a third of it was wine.
Can thoroughly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had Carrot and coriander soup to start which we both enjoyed, it was served with white and walnut bread which was delicious with butter.
When our mains came we thought the portions were small, however both of us were to full for a desert so instead we enjoyed a pot of tea.
The staff are all young and very friendly and polite and more than capable of running the restaurant very professionally.
The food was superb and the staff and service are excellent, we really enjoyed it. A big thank you to all of you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShropshireLad50, General Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you had an enjoyable visit. We appreciate all feedback we get from our customers whether it is on trip advisor, facebook or twitter. We will take your comments on board and also as we are always looking to improve.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jim Littler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Far too loud! ”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't eat this time but came for a drink of a Friday night. Nice ales on tap and quite a fun atmosphere. But it was far, far too loud. There isn't a shred of soft furnishing in sight. Which maybe conforms to the look they're going for, but there's a reason restaurants/pubs have traditionally had the odd bit of fabric.

I'm due to eat here in the near future but I may reconsider simply because I enjoy conversation and this was a strain, even to my young ears.

Helpful?
Thank 68394944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShropshireLad50, General Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate all feedback we get from our customers whether it is on trip advisor, facebook or twitter. However our restaurant is situated mainly on the first floor with a few tables available downstairs. We do on occasions have a live acoustic musician as was the case when you visited. This does not effect the restaurant due to it only taking place in the bar. We will take your comments on board and also as we are always looking to improve. Please give us a call if you have any further queries or questions on seating for dinner.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jim Littler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food , small portions”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Had a nice meal here last weekend , seemed quite quiet though
Are food was presented very well but was a small portion for the price

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrimpo1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShropshireLad50, General Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you had an enjoyable visit. Our menu is designed to be taken as 3 courses and most find portion adequate, I hope we can advise on this should you plan to visit again in the future. We appreciate all feedback we get from our customers whether it is on trip advisor, facebook or twitter. We will take your comments on board and also as we are always looking to improve.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jim Littler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lion + Pheasant also viewed

 

Been to Lion + Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing