We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional..... One of the best!”
Review of Draper's Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Draper's Hall
Ranked #27 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Hednesford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional..... One of the best!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel was exceptional, the service even better! Took my partner here for valentines day. Feb 14. The husband/wife owners were on hand, friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is a gorgeous building with lots of classic Tudor character but all the mod cons inside. Our suite had a full kitchen/separate lounge and bedroom all decorated to a high standard. The main restaurant was well laid out, and the inclusive breakfast was excellent. Perfect for a couples weekend away. Will be heading back!

Room Tip: Booked the lime suite. Decor excellent & spacious for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    43
    15
    11
    11
See reviews for
16
105
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After a bitterly disappointing debacle at another local restaurant on Christmas Day we left without having the lunch that we had booked in for months previously.
Obviously we were a very sad pair indeed. Then on the off chance we called in at Drapers just to see if they could squeeze two more in for lunch.
What a transformation from the bleak premises we had just left. The place was buzzing, the staff were very busy but with time for a smile and a chat. They took us under their wing, sat us at the bar for a drink whilst they sorted a table for us. What a terrific lunch, great food, good wine and a real festive spirit.
We now know where to book for next year. Thank you Drapers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooser69Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for New Year's Eve. Everything was great; the breakfast was excellent - fresh berries, best ever scrambled egg, homemade baked beans, double yolk boiled eggs (including 1 blue egg!), posh bread toasts - yummy!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely old hotel, enterance is beautiful. Bar area very modern and excellent selection of drinks. Beautiful old dining area, food was amazing had the smoothest chicken liver terrine ever, delicious fillet of beef and figs with goats cheese and honey for dessert. Service was a little slow but the restaurant was full!! The room (orange room) was beautiful, big comfy bed, gorgeous Jacuzzi bath and power shower. Very modern. Breakfast was also delicious, fresh fruits, cereals, toast and cooked breakfast that was clean and not too much, especially with my hangover. Staff very good, nothing is too much trouble. Will definately return. Thank you x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

All I can say is you must visit this establishment.

The restaurant and rooms are excellent a real blend of old and new.

We stayed in the Walnut room which was very opulent retained original features but had a fab modern bathroom.

The restaurant menu had a good choice and the food when it arrived was of an excellent quality and generous portions.

The service throughout was very good and the "cocktail bar" was an added extra for pre dinner drinks.

I have no hesitation at recommending Drapers Hall for food or rooms

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powyswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a brilliant evening - our "Staff Do" - the excellent staff coped wonderfully with a very busy Bar and Restaurant and the hoards of festive jollity.
Dinner was exceptional - everyone's starter, main course and pudding were excellent - imaginative combinations beautifully cooked and presented.
Two of us shared the best Chateaubriand I have ever had - it was stunning.
Have no doubt - this is an outstanding restaurant - probably one of the very best in Shropshire,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Draper’s Hall, in the oldest part of Shrewsbury, was our headquarters for a recent 30-day visit to the West Midlands and Wales. We had discovered the outstanding restaurant in 2007 and never considered staying anywhere else on this visit. The Lime Suite was comfortable, well appointed, and ideal for all our needs during an extended stay. We especially appreciated the convenience of an area for all of our electronic devices and the strong wi-fi signal. We took most of our evening meals in The Hall, and the cuisine was even better than before, if that is possible. The wine list is excellent. We found the hotel’s staff to be superb and very helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We could not have been more pleased with our overall experience!

Room Tip: All of the suites are very nicely equipped. After looking at all of the possibilities on the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
633 reviews
0.0 mi away
PorterHouse.sy1
PorterHouse.sy1
#13 of 56 in Shrewsbury
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Loopy Shrew
The Loopy Shrew
#10 of 56 in Shrewsbury
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#2 of 56 in Shrewsbury
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Nicholas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Draper's Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draper's Hall

Property: Draper's Hall
Address: 10 St. Marys Place, Shrewsbury SY1 1DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Draper's Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef Nigel Huxley Wife Sharon & team for the past 12 years have helped renovate & built up this small business within this Elizabethan building,now with two Suites & two rooms awarded AA 5 Stars, a restaurant with rooms category & two rosettes for the restaurant. Private dining is available. Lounge bar with BarAndGrill menu & sunny Courtyard 'most of the time'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Draper's Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Draper's Hall Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing