We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little treat”
Review of Draper's Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Draper's Hall
Ranked #28 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of May. We got to the hotel just after 3pm and were able to park outside for 15 minutes for free while we dropped our bags off and checked in. We then parked at the Wyle Cop parking garage which was £7 for 24 hours and was only a couple of minutes away.
The hotel was in a great position and looked lovely. We stayed in the Teal room at the very top of the building which was designed really well. I loved the decor and the feel of the place. The only niggles were that the cups in the room were too small (they were almost espresso cups) and we were woken up hourly by the church bell.
Even though I enjoyed my stay I did feel the price of the room was quite expensive but it was alright for a one off treat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlarina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from a fabulous weekend at Drapers Hall. Two nights in the very quaint Wool room, clean and amazing decor. Staff all friendly and helpful especially Sharon and our waitress (enjoy Napa!) Nothing was too much trouble, they went the extra mile to make sure I was happy with breakfast (and I was!!) Highly recommended. We were sorry to leave!xx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chubby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Went to Drapers Hall restaurant last night with 14 other diners to celebrate my mothers 80th birthday. Even though we pre booked, there were insufficient places layed at a long banquet style table. Those of us on the wall side of the table were seated on an upright, uncomfortable wooden bench that meant if anybody needed to leave the table, many would have to move to let them out. The menu was poorly presented and very small. This was exacerbated by being told that one starter had run out, one main course had run out and they didn't have all the ingredients for another of the mains. Food was average, service was poor, staff were not engaging and prices were inflated. It was such a disappointment after so many recommendations. Have wanted to try Drapers Hall for some time but will never return or recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Vernon-Page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place was chosen to celebrate a retirement party, thinking it would be great food in a great location. How wrong! The food was awful which is an understatement Several guests had to send thier meals back as the beef dish we ordered was inedible. I could not even cut through my beef it was that tough. I had ordered beef bourguinon which was presented as one large block of inedible beef and very little sauce, totally not beef bourguinon! The consensus from other guests was that the food all round was very below par. Will definitely not be returning. April 2014

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank liz g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Fabulous fabulous fabulous
You pay for what you get..... duck confit starter baked cod main superb too full to try the tempting desserts but enjoyed another drink in the cocktail bar ..
Highly recommend and definitely be paying another visit !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dianfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a fantastic find, and we would recommend it as a high quality boutique, hotel, with excellent very well renovated, and presented accommodation. The dining experience was also exquisite, dinner served in the original 'Drapers hall" Food choices were excellent, as was the quality, and presentation. Extensive wine and beverage selection, made dinner a very pleasurable experience. Breakfast was also superb!

Book it and Enjoy !

Room Tip: Wool Suite was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Drapers for one night with friends who were celebrating their Golden wedding. The atmosphere was so welcoming and the staff so helpful and friendly it was a lovely experience. The Orange room was really comfortable and spotlessly clean. Both the evening meal and our breakfast were exceptional. Well done Drapers 12 out of 10 at least. Would love to come again.

Room Tip: Orange and gold rooms both beautiful! Very comfortable beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,199 reviews
3.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Draper's Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draper's Hall

Address: 10 St. Marys Place, Shrewsbury SY1 1DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £100 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Draper's Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef Nigel Huxley Wife Sharon & team for the past 12 years have helped renovate & built up this small business within this Elizabethan building,now with two Suites & two rooms awarded AA 5 Stars, a restaurant with rooms category & two rosettes for the restaurant. Private dining is available. Lounge bar with BarAndGrill menu & sunny Courtyard 'most of the time'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Draper's Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Draper's Hall Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing