We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free admission....bring your coupon......dogs allowed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Attingham Park

Attingham Park
Ranked #4 of 75 things to do in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century home contains one of the most complete surviving collections of Regency style.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Free admission....bring your coupon......dogs allowed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Travelled from Hertfordshire to experience the magic of the parkland walks this National Trust property has to offer. The walks are mostly on flat to terrain with some challenging parts. I spoke to a staff member at reception to discuss which walk would suit myself and a young dog. Koda and I chose to undertake the longest walk known as the woodland walk. This 3 mile walk was to take 1.5 hours to complete and crisscrossed all focal points in the park. This included Reston wood, regency bee house, the orchard, play fields and the suspension bridge. I was able to view The Berwick Memorial, weir and ice house. The walks were simple to follow as the route was marked by coloured markers with a concrete footpath to navigate to the next signpost. There are 5 structured walks around the park; mile walk (30 Minutes) Deer park walk 2miles (1hr), bluebell walk 1.5 miles (45 mins), woodland walk and finally WW11 walk 2 miles (1 hour).

I enjoyed the walk but was unable to visit the house on one of the tours as the tours lasted 75 minutes which would be too long. The gift shop was okay but the cafe was too pricey. I was grateful for my Morrisons' sandwiches and my flask of Yorkshire tea. Remember to bring your lunch, binoculars and camera. I took some great photos here. I was delighted to have received an online voucher enabling me access to any National Trust site free of charge. Simply download a copy of the voucher and write your address details down and then hand it in at the admissions desk. This enabled a family/couple or single person to gain free entry. So, remember to bring your free admission voucher.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    437
    70
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Day Out For All The Family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd time visting Attingham Park - good location - bit of a hidden gem but well worth visiting. The Drawing Room - The Boudoir - The Dining Room are so impressive - just love these rooms. The property also offers a park - wall gardens - deer park and a HA-HA. Staff were pleasant and wanted to chat once you were in each room. Good strong cup of tea with a slice of cake was a lovely treat - busy like NT tearooms/restaurants. Lots to see and do once you arrive here - well worth visiting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This year my husband and I bought a National Trust membership. What a great idea. It has taken us out and introduced us to places we would otherwise have just past by.
Attingham Park was just one of those trips. Returning from Shropshire, we looked online and dropped in. What a find. It is not the largest or most ornate of houses but it has what many others lack; a homely feeling. Somewhere you feel comfortable enough to put your feet up and read a book - if time allowed. Even below stairs was warm, comfortable, and homely.
The house reminded us of Kedleston Hall in Derbyshire; it is an Adams house and very lovely too.
It has great walks in it 4000 acres so young and old there is something for everyone. It was half term so there were lots of children all having fun. They had games for the young ones (find the mouse in each room), pumpkin faces to cut under supervision and something in the woods. We saw signs to follow on trees.
I would be happy to take anyone there no matter what their interests. The circular rooms were most interesting and don't forget to look up. The ceilings are superb. Much of the house has been restored/cleaned but the house is still a work in progress. They are refurbishing the Nash ceiling at the picture gallery but this does not detract from its interest. In fact it adds to it. I'm so glad these skills are not being lost.
The guides are very helpful and tea rooms worth a try.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Even though there's a fee to enter the park and house it is so worth it! The park is wonderful to walk round as you are surrounded by so much nature it is lovely! The house is worth the money to go round. Lovely rooms all full of so much history. Defiantly worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmyHart23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely day here. The house is very interesting with lots to see and well informed helpful and friendly guides. Several nice walks in the park and a beautiful walled garden. Good food in the numerous tea rooms and eateries.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Attingham Park also viewed

 

Been to Attingham Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing