We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Attingham Park

Attingham Park
Ranked #4 of 76 things to do in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century home contains one of the most complete surviving collections of Regency style.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spent the best part of an afternoon here starting with an entertaining guided tour of the house focussing on the bankruptcy which had affected the family many years ago.

We then leisurely explored the house and it will be interesting to re-visit in a few years to see how the restorations (e.g the bedrooms) that are planned progress.

After we'd finished exploring the house we had a break for tea and cake in the tea rooms and then ambled around the mile walk, breaking off en-route for an extended browse around the excellent walled garden.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank prefdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    440
    71
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We expected to spend an hour or so here en route to Ironbridge Gorge but stayed for four hours.

Whilst it was disappointing not to see the bedrooms set out, the tour explaining the extensive renovation work was riveting and gave a really good insight into the time and cost of restoring properties that have fallen on hard times. I cannot imagine the patience and concentration required to spend 400 hours meticulously cleaning the walls of a single room.

The design is unusual, and the grounds lovely.

I can also recommend the soup in the Mansion Tearoom!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“New favourite National Trust place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Spent an afternoon here and had a great time! Digs loved it for the extensive and well signposted walks, son loved it for the amazing playground - (quite a hike - 500m - from the house but well worth it!), fascinating house and a really interesting "behind the scenes" look at the repairs to the roof and a fascinating exhibition on conservation techniques and theories. There were a choice of places to eat - afternoon tea in the library or sausage and chips in the playground and you could buy fresh produce from the kitchen garden ( also worth a visit!)
A really great place for all the family and it does feel like the NT is trying to make the most of everything it's got there.

Helpful?
Thank neddyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth doing if a member, if not...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Think I'd head elsewhere, if it were only to view the house and I were paying a one off ticket price, as other properties, in my personal opinion are nicer. In saying that it is still very nice.
The deer park is wonderful, so long as deer are visible, which ordinarily they usually are. The countryside is fine, not outstanding but pleasant.
Sunnycroft in Wellington is excellent and close to visit. In my opinion better, more intimate, fascinating. Especially when one knows the lady lived as a recluse in this old Edwardian villa, that remains a time warp.
Hope it helps.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank julietaylor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This beautiful Palladian style house are part of an amazing story of fortunes made and lost. We were here 10 years go and the difference is incredible. The ceilings are so beautiful and there are lots of different places to eat, should you so wish. I can't wait to see what will be restored next

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Attingham Park also viewed

 

Been to Attingham Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing