We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”
Review of Ye Olde Cross Gates Inn - CLOSED

Ye Olde Cross Gates Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Sunday Carvery is excellent value and local real ales are served as well. My only grumble was the tables seemed a little too close together for complete comfort.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank partypolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice refurb of a tired place. Great food too”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This place was very run down and then closed for a long time before the current owners purchased the freehold and refurbished it to a very high standard. I suspect the refurb cost a lot more that the initial purchase, but it has been done tastfully

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Karena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We called at the Cross Gates last week early evening on route to our friends in Welshpool. As we arrived we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who showed us to a table and brought us the menus and took our drink order. All the staff we saw were male and extremely efficient. The other diners were very friendly and the pub very clean. We had home made soup and chunky bread which was wonderful and very good quality. The main meals arrived which again were very well presented and well cooked. The staff kept checking if everything was ok.We had coffee which came with a biscuit and the whole bill was just over £30 for the two of us. We would certainly return when in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best steak I have had in the last 10 years+”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just finished eating here and it was amazing. I ordered the steak, it arrived in good time and was presented beautifully on a slate which looked great. I recommend eating here as the service was great and the food was even better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doles121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“enjoy this place”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is one of those places you're in two minds whether to recommend........because you just want to keep it all to yourself. Had a family dinner for 10 here a couple of weekends ago and everybody loved it, food beautifully cooked, service great and ambience good, enough said I think.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Cross Gates Inn also viewed

Hadnall, Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
Uffington, Shrewsbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing