We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall - CLOSED

Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Description: Recently opened January 2011 and located in the busy Market Hall in Shrewsbury, one of several cafe/restaurants in this building, serving traditional Mediterranean and African mezze
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A friend had recently mentioned that he had been to Mirage Mezze, we went today its, tucked away in the Market Hall which we had never been to either, another find. We didnt know what to chose so asked for some advice, we shared a mezze platter and had some extra dishes added as there were three of us, it was served with some lovely warm flat bread, and it was gorgeous, all of the dishes were so tasty and there was plenty for all of us. The staff were really welcoming, we will definlnelty go there again, and if your a vegeatarian and sick of the restricted choices for you when eating out, this is a must for you enjoy. Really good value for money too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    14
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a lovely little place! We found it at the back of the Market Hall on a non-market day following trip advisor recommendations. It was well worth the effort to find it. Lovely eclectic mix of seating with brightly coloured comfortable cushions, very welcoming and friendly staff and delicious food and tea. The meze was delicious with a wonderful range of flavours and good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawstockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming, with wonderful flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Mirage Mezze is one of our favourite Shrewsbury eateries for lunch. (We like them so much we have hired them to cater our wedding). The mezze dishes are all rich in flavour and beautifully cooked, particularly the rice and the Batata Harra (spiced potatoes). I have never eaten this type of food outside of the U.K. sadly but there is a feel of authenticity about the dishes, which is added to by the warm welcome we have always received from all the staff. We are often given complimentary dishes to accompany our meal, such as Baclava. The selection of drinks including two different fresh mint teas and flavoured coffees are excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best Baba Ganoush I've ever had!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is our favourite place for a late breakfast / early lunch. We have the vegetarian mezze platter with flat breads. Everything is delicious but the star of the plate is the Baba Ganoush - it is the best I've ever had! The teas are also gorgeous - and served in such cute little pots.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karenc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

New extended menu cooked to order value and quality.
enjoyed venue service new staff willing but learning

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing