We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening meal for two” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #55 of 343 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Evening meal for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked a table at the new inn at short notice and they were able to accomadate us. We were kindly greeted by bar staff and served a drink ( on tab ) the restaurant was lovely and decorated in pretty fairy lights! The bar area had a lovely log fire. Menu was plentiful for choice and reasonably priced. And the staff were happy to swap chips for potatoes or veg for salad! The food was excellent big portions and presentation was nice. My partner and I plan to return and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We visited after a colleague recommended it. So we popped in for a Friday evening meal. It was fairly quiet when we arrived, and we were alone in the quite pleasant dining room, but this soon started to fill we a few more diners. The menu wasn't very extensive but had a reasonable choice. The service was good and efficient the food was hot and well cooked, so in all a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank An C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic local pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We went here last minute, in August, and what a wonderful surprise it was.
It's your typical local pub inside, great friendly atmosphere, the owner friendly and attentive.
It was very busy, but they got us a table, and we chose from the great menu, the food was delivered timely by the friendly waitress, and then the best bit, the food, fantastic portions, amazing taste, and unbelievable value!
You cannot fault this, it really is great pub grub, fantastic atmosphere, these sort of places are a rarity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookfair1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Good Service and Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Have visited The New Inn on various occasions with friends for an evening meal and have always been impressed with the quality of the food and service given. Decided to try Sunday lunch here with family, for a change as we usually go to a specific favourite. Really glad we did. The food was excellent, plentiful, tasty, fresh, nicely presented. Service was good and I really like the friendliness of the place. Cost was reasonable. Will definitely visit for Sunday lunch again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good atmosphere and great deals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I must admit that first impressions of this pub are not the best with the car-park looking a bit rundown and the exterior signage needing a bit of improvement but the location situated in a quiet village surrounded by countryside makes up for it.
Inside there is a bar area for locals and a large restaurant area situated beyond and in a more modern conversion at the back. The staff were quick to find us a table and everyone was very friendly from the bar staff to the waitress with no feel of being hurried or that we were causing an inconvenience.
The food is a really good selection of proper pub grub with offers such as Fish & Chips for £5 on a Wednesday but the main menu prices are quite expensive for the venue at around £9-£11 per meal. But this was a meal out so I opted for the Fish & Chips and Stephen had a 1/2lb Burger with cheese. The atmosphere is one of being very relaxed and although there is a real lack of olde style pub its more than made up for with the clean, bright and friendly feel to the place.
So food... The Fish & Chips were really nice - Light, fluffy batter with just the right amount of chips and peas. The chips were quite bland but the rest of the meal was really nice although not something I would want to pay full price for. Stephen enjoyed his burger and it looked like quite a substantial meal with melted cheese on the burger along with chips and a salad.
After a glass of white wine we tried the sticky toffee pudding with vanilla ice-cream but sadly the lack of toffee syrup left a rather unexciting dessert but it was nice and light and went well with the ice-cream.

The bill came to just under £30 for 2 glasses of medium white wine, a coke, pint of strongbow, two meals and a dessert so it was very reasonable. I think the standard prices are a bit steep for some of the food but the £5 Fish & Chips was a great offer so try and come here on a Wednesday for this!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Hadnall, Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing