We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal out”
Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Ranked #25 of 369 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub with large beer gardens and stunning views. Serving home-cooked food and local ales with a warm welcome. Pet friendly
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good meal out”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We decided on this pub in part due to the bad meal the hotel we were staying had given us the previous night and the reviews for this place on trip adviser.
We were not disappointed. Unfortunately other diners had similar tastes to us, and our first choice of faggots had sold out; but our second choice of scampi and lamb pie was lovely. Service and ambiance was great, very friendly and efficient. We had to share a desert as the portions are very generous. The total price was good value for money too, so would definitely return if I was back in the area, and hope other TA members appreciate The Windmill as much as we did. Thank you so much team.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank one2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    44
    17
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Where was the friendly service ?”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Called in on route to Wales for lunch. Ignored at the bar, not even a 'be with you in a minute' as the barmaid disappeared with someone else's lunch order. The bar wasn't busy either. Decided to eat and found the food to be of good quality and well presented, albeit expensive, £10 for a ploughmans, £7 for a baguette. But what let our visit down was the lack of any kind of welcome, the staff just didn't seem interested. Certainly wouldn't return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AirCooledHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike c, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Aircooled (very cool name)

Very sorry to hear of our lack of friendliness on your visit I can assure you this is an exception and not the norm. I have just responded in a personal message to Bernadette C who seems to have suffered in a similar way to you on her visit with us.

We are a small family run business and every customer and thier experience with us is very important to us. We take great pride in all of our good reviews and take, very much so, to heart the ones where in some way we have failed to please.

Sometimes we get things wrong and can only appologise for the shortcomings you experienced on your visit.

In response (and in no way intended as an excuse) the young waitress that passed you is not trained to work the bar without supervision and the barman at the time was busy elsewhere. We have now set into place staff training regarding "customer acknowledgement" and have placed a bell on the bar for customers to ring when there is no one in attendance.

Thanks to your and bernadettes candid reviews you have enabled us to ensure this does not occur in the future.

Trip Advisor is an excellent management tool that enables us to provide better service in a very tough and challenging Industry.

Again please accept my appologies and my thanks for bringing this to our attention and hope that one day you may give us a second chance !

Kind Regards

Mike Collis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Family celebration.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My mum booked a table for 8 for her special birthday after reading good reviews. We weren't disappointed the food was excellent and the service good. I would say it was the best meal I have had eating out, good choice and the roast meat was tender and tasty. Lovely atmosphere inside with flowers all round. Will certainly book again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Called in on the way back from Wales, food and drink was excellent as was the service. When passing I will definitely call in again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Fillet steak.... EVER!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Had a family wedding to attend up the road at Rowton Castle and we all met up here the night before for a meal.

Over 30 of us, not all pre-booked and the serving, bar and kitchen staff coped effortlessly.

Myself and a couple of others ordered the Windmill Tower and I have to say, it was the best fillet steak I have ever had the pleasure of eating.

That said, between all of us we ordered pretty much everything off the menus and boards and not one of us was disappointed, left hungry or left waiting.

The chips deserve a special mention too as they were awesome! Huge, thrice cooked, stayed very hot and thoroughly enjoyed by ALL.

HUGE thanks to ALL the staff who were working the night of 28th June 2014 for putting up with The Bulman & Brisk clan gathering, you did yourselves (and us) proud.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minotaur3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Uffington, Shrewsbury
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing