We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food and at a good price.”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #275 of 353 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pub food and at a good price.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Feeling hungry we popped in to grab a bite to eat and were delighted. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food arrived quickly, and it was beautifully cooked and not expensive. Between us, we had a mixed grill, an 8oz rump steak and two bottles of Becks blue -- all for £21.00. Good, honest, quality 'pub grub' and at a sensible price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    59
    31
    30
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My BF,stepdad and I went for Sunday lunch and we weren't disappointed,2 of us had normal beef roast and the other had large beef roast,the mash was light and creamy,roasts were cooked to perfection,veg the same,the beef was very tasty and succulent,we then had pudding,I had millionaires Sunday,(lush) and the other 2 had sticky toffee waffle with ice cream and again was lush,The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble,will take other family members there again..

Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large choice and great value”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The White Horse has a large menu to choose from and what I call a "pub grub" menu. There is a large eating area with lots of tables so never a problem to get a seat, and then there is the no qwibble garantee where they promise to change any meal your not happy with.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carling1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Wasnt expecting much from here as when I went a few years back and had an awful meal so have never felt like returning. However I was invited for a friends birthday meal and this time had an enjoyable meal at a great price. Had the 5oz rump steak on the 2 for £10 menu with side of onion rings and it was lovely. Cooked how I asked and the creamy mushroom sauce I ordered extra was lovely too. Ordered the sticky toffee pudding for dessert and wasnt very impressed had obviously just been defrosted so was quite hard and cold wont order this again. Sticky toffee pudding should always be warmed up. Anyway for a chain pub this definitly gets 4 stars and will return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great eating place”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Good food and great staff...very friendly people and only a walk away from our place of stay.....did not dislike anything.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susanne Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing