We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd like to keep this secret to ourselves, but that's not really fair!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Isle Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'd like to keep this secret to ourselves, but that's not really fair!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just had the real pleasure of a four night stay at this splendid home from home. I cannot praise Ros and Edward enough for their warm welcome and unending efforts to make our stay nothing but a pleasure. A lovely couple and, indeed, a lovely family.

We were welcomed with tea and biscuits served in the lounge whilst Edward did his best to book us in. This in itself was a great event as he is an enthusiastic conversationalist and, as I too love a natter, the booking in went frequently astray!! Introductions were made to family and pets and life stories exchanged.

We stayed in the pink room which was charming, warm, comfortable and spacious . Fresh milk was supplied daily and they even found space in the fridge to chill our wine for us.

Ours was mostly a walking holiday. Ros and Edward have great local knowledge and accompanied their suggestions with maps and refreshment recommendations.

We enjoyed meeting the horses stabled on the estate, and the warm and friendly attitude of everyone associated with the estate was just lovely.

A tour of the estate was on offer, time pressed on so we will take up this offer on our next visit.

Breakfast provided an extensive choice of local, quality produce.... and more welcome conversation.

At night the estate is quiet and restful. An alarm is needed or else you run the risk of not getting up!

Every day here was a pleasure. Ros and Edward have the gift of making you feel like a family friend, not a paying guest. Every day was a treat and we will visit again. Thank You.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobTheCollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward T, Owner at The Isle Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice report. For us it was lovely having you both to stay and you certainly packed plenty into your time. Do come again and we will try and find plenty more for you to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
69
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lovely house with wonderful views. Edward and Ros made us feel at home. Very comfortable stay in the Lavender Room. Delicious breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. Really enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward T, Owner at The Isle Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice comments and in the meantime hope you have a lovely summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My stay at The Isle Estate was first rate and I regretted that it was for just two nights. The house and accommodation are charming, comfortable, and with real character, and my hosts could not have been more warm, welcoming and accommodating. Breakfasts were expertly prepared using high quality local ingredients and the evening meal on my first night was similarly excellent with fresh vegetables from the garden and a very generous portion of chicken from a neighbour.
I have every intention of returning when I have more time available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward T, Owner at The Isle Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
We both feel humbled by the lovely write up, thank you. For our part it was a pleasure to have you all to stay and we enjoyed your company. Do come again when possible. Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a great place!
A little concentration required to follow the excellent instructions on how to find them, but after that just relax! A great place. We were in the Blue & White Room (gorgeous). Lovely to have such a big room, lots of space, and beautiful bathroom.
Lovely breakfast (home made muesli). I don't eat wheat or dairy these days, and this was no problem for Ros. She very thoughtfully found me some special bread and spread, and made muesli with almond milk.
We ate out Friday night in Shrewsbury www.henrytudorhouse.com (very good, and funky in a grown up way). Saturday night we ate at The Isle - amazing food, and all of it from the garden, including the chicken, fab. Don't forget to BYOB! Dinner in the oak panelled dining room, surrounded by huge old oil paintings, and then a lovely fire blazing in the drawing room afterwards.
Edward kindly showed us around the yard, and out over the moat and southerly fields, before sending us out to the lake. Amazing history to this place, and great to learn from Edward about some of what he is trying to achieve.
Sunday: a beautiful spring day, and great to be able to go wondering off around the estate, along the river.
Things to pack: bottle for dinner, boots and walking kit, binoculars (and scope if you have one, good dark skies).
We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue & White Room - front corner of the house, facing south, bathroom facing ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Edward helped rescue my kayak. Wonderfully caring welcome at the Grange. Beautiful house and rooms. Excellent dinner and breakfast shared with fishermen guests. Extensive countryside opportunities....

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PeterXDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Staying at The Isle is a lovely surprise. It really is a Country House. The views are wonderful. The rooms etc. are gracious, beautifully laid out, and comprise a mixture of taste, comfort, and a splash of luxury. But what is more unusual is that for all the splendour of the surroundings, the welcome and hospitality is generous and genuine. The hosts, thoughtful, friendly and kind.

We woke up to a magical frosty morning after an arrival to tea and biscuits night before served in front of a log fire by Ed in the drawing room, Breakfast in the panelled dining room among the varied painted ancestors eating Ros's home-made special porridge, was a real treat. Ed and Ros's daily thoughtful advice and interest in our comfort made the whole long weekend run smoothly.

But what fascinated us most was a tour of the estate to see all the good work this couple are doing putting back goodness and growth into the land: their efforts to develop renewables and sustainability; their crops, animals, ancient forts, tree husbandry; the reclamation and development of lost or broken down resources. And it was an instructive pleasure to listen to and discuss with them, their plans for the future. These people are seriously kind to others less privileged in an unshowy way, and believe their pleasure and duty as people is to use their life-tenancy here to help other people, their county, and the health of the planet.

And don't miss the three dogs, each with their own offer of friendship, touch of madness, and eccentricity, and an array of cats resulting from the energetic efforts of a marmalade cat with one huge ginger tom, as far as we could see. However if you're animal allergic, don't worry, all pets can be shooed away, and are very obedient.

We grew very fond of these people in the few day we were with them and will certainly return when we can. The best B & B I remember staying for a very long time, maybe ever!

Room Tip: Excellent view outside to the front, but it might be all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Remarkable hidden historical estate in a wonderful part of England. Edward and Ros were superb hosts. The blue-and-white bedroom really is perfect, and the views astounding. The food was really good, and to dine in a wooden-panelled room surrounded by paintings of their family is a real privilege. A classic English country home.

Room Tip: go for Spode
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumberingbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
3.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.5 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#3 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Isle Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Isle Estate Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Isle Estate Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Isle Isle Lane | Bicton, Shrewsbury SY3 8EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bow of the River Severn, The Isle is a period country house, steeped in history in a peaceful location just 4 miles from Shrewsbury. The Shrewsbury B&B bedrooms are beautifully furnished with antiques and all mod cons. Breakfast (dinner upon request) is served in the oak panelled dining room and there is also a separate sitting room for guests. Nature lovers will find a wealth of wildlife and there are scenic walks along the river or around the 10 acre lake behind the house. Carp fishing is also available for guests by prior arrangement. Well behaved dogs can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Isle Estate Bed And Breakfast Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing