We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbots Mead Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lord Hill Hotel(Shrewsbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Love2Stay(Shrewsbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
39
93
41
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
93
41
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtown centrecar keys at receptionlarge extensionrooms and public areasevening receptionistcar parking at the hotelgeorgian buildingkippersfreshly cooked breakfastfriendly hotela family run hoteltv and tea making facilitiestea coffee hot chocolatebasement roomoverlooking the rear gardenbowl of fresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed for one night prior to catching the Heart of Wales Train to Swansea the following day.
Our room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is conveniently located for walking to the town centre or along the river side.
We needed an early start the following day and an excellent cooked breakfast was served quickly and without fuss.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiganMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Just got back after a 3 night stay (10 of us altogether inc children & friends) booked 2 family rooms and a double. A lovely warm welcome on arrival very informative of breakfast times etc, rooms were nice, warm and spacious especially our family room, bar area is cosy with good selection of drinks. Breakfast was fantastic all very tasty and plenty of toast! Service fast and efficient and friendly. Shrewsbury is a lovely town to visit, and we would definatley stay at the abbots mead if we visited again! Very good location. No complaints at all. it is a lovely family run & friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Not quite what we were expecting, but it served a purpose. The hotel is a little tired but its clean and that's always the most important factor. The breakfast was outstanding, and I suppose for 58 quid, I'm maybe being over-critical.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKRDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed at the Abbots Mead on a Thursday night for business. The location was ideal for my evening as I was out and about in the Town Centre and everything was within walking distance. However, the reception and bar area is very dated, as was the room that I stayed in. The room was also very small. On the upside it looked as though the bathroom had recently been refurbished with new tiles, shower and cubicle. The member of staff that I dealt with was very friendly and the breakfast was nice, but, my overall opinion of this Hotel is 'could do better'. Such a shame as ideal location, lovely old building and nice staff ........... just a little tired and dated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We booked one night at this hotel as looking on the internet it seemed to be in the right position for exploring Shrewsbury, must admit as it was only a two star our expectations weren't very high. We were pleasantly surprised all round. Great location, we didn't have to drive through the middle of the town to reach it, which was a bonus. Really easy to find and the hotel has its own parking right outside. Owner very welcoming, room lovely and clean, tea, coffee, hairdryer and free Wi Fi. We were given a map of the town on arrival which helped a lot. Breakfast was lovely - husband enjoyed full English and the fresh fruit salad and yoghurts were great, all served by a very friendly and helpful young lady. We were even allowed to leave our car there after we had booked out to enjoy a boat trip on the river. Excellent hotel, would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retired35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews