We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to visit”
Review of Battlefield 1403

Battlefield 1403
Ranked #8 of 79 things to do in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The farm shop was amazing, my stepmum bought plants and we both had a small, I had a fidget pie, she had a chicken and ham pie - utterly delicious!!
The walk to the church and wround was nice, especially for those who need fairly flat walks if you have leg/feet problems.
The cafe sells superb food which like the pies was lovely. Throughly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcr1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    114
    44
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

On the face of it visiting the site of a battle may not seem to be very enjoyable.? However we spent over 3 hours here and haven't made it to the falconry bit yet. The staff are all friendly and helpful.
The free museum display is very well put together, with thought given to children's experience, should you have small people with you.
The farm shop is wonderful and very, very tempting. From the butchery windows you see the farm animals set in lovely countryside.
The restaurant can be forgiven a long wait for the food, which was top notch. It was, without exception, quality & scrumptious. Mmmmmm
You can stroll in a walk around the site and return for tea and cake, should you be tempted. We had a very relaxing visit and came away with se exceptional goodies.
It would seem a just the place to breakfast before a journey, really setting you up for the day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ilovefoodandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cafe pricey but nicey!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My friend and I met up at the Battlefield 1403 cafe as it was equidistant from where we were both traveling, so more for convenience than anything. I must admit I was a bit taken aback by the prices on the menu and only had a bit of change on me, so we decided just to have a nice chilled drink and a side order of chips to enjoy in the sunshine!

I was expecting your bog standard chips on a plate, but they arrived in a large dish, freshly cut and fried (but not greasy). They'd used a local 'floury' potato which made the most delicious chips I've ever tasted, and served with a generous helping of garlic mayo. It was heaven!

If my lotto numbers come up, I'll be there for a proper slap up meal! The meals being served to other customers looked and smelled fantastic.

I look forward to returning!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great quality food in deli and cafe”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Passed this many times without realising what was here. Eventually called in on way back from seeing Henry IV at RSC and wanting to check up on Battle of Shrewsbury. No idea there was a food store and restaurant here as well as info on battle site. Museum provided a good insight into not only the battle and the lead up to it but also into the weapons and armour used at the time. Maybe a little too "print heavy" especially for younger visitors.
Impressed by quality and variety of food on offer in deli and spent quite a lot !!! Sparrows restaurant for lunch also proved very satisfactory. Definitely on our list of places to stop on our regular trips from the Northwest to South Wales

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wales65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
534 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Always had lovely food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have visited here many times since they opened. It is nice to combine the visit with a walk round the battlefield area, view the historic church, see the museum and have a coffee / cake or a more substantial meal. There is also the farm shop with excellent local produce.

We have always enjoyed the food on each occasion. It is a nice setting. Plenty of choice to suit all tastes and appetites.

However, when we visited a few times this year we have noticed that the venue has become increasingly busier. We went with relations for a coffee and walk and hopefully lunch afterwards. We asked mid morning after coffee do we need to book as we would be returning for lunch. No need was the reply. When we returned the place was heaving and we were asked to line up in a corridor, unfortunately near the loos. The wait was over 20 minutes. being 4 in our party, people in twos were sometimes accommodated first as tables for two became available quicker.

On another occasion we were with 4 friends from abroad, who would have definitely enjoyed the historical aspect of the venue as well as the food. We phoned to see if we could book but unfortunately it seems at the time they didn't take bookings. So we decided not to chance it and went elsewhere.

So the answer is arrive early if you plan to enjoy lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Battlefield 1403 also viewed

 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Battlefield 1403? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing