We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelent place for a meal!”
Review of Kings Head

Kings Head
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Head
Ranked #48 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exelent place for a meal!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stopped in shrewsbury for the afternoon and had a meal here. The food was excelent, Large portions and good quality produce. Very good value for money! Would recomend to anyone! The building was really quirky with loads of character and the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotraveller262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
7
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Don't believe anything negative - this is a real find!! Yes, a band plays on Saturday but the charming and friendly staff informed us before we checked in, so we knew. We had actually planned to go out, but the band were so good, we stayed, and had a great night!!! Staff and management are a credit- friendly, helpful ( my wife asked for some extra milk in the room - there within minutes, with a smile!! Unusual these days!) Rooms are fantastic value and staff so wonderful, we decided to stay a bit longer and have Sunday lunch - wow!!! Huge, homemade lunches. Delicious. We will be back!!!! Don't hesitate to book, great value and personal service

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaldingsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

just come home from a weekend at this pub we had a brilliant time yes the music was loud but if you stay in a pub expect noise the staff and landlady are lovely and i have to say the beds are great i slept like a log. we are definatly going back great value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnroberts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

From once a lovely olde worlde pub where
Nothing was too much trouble...to a pub that thinks it's a high end club!!! It's starting to get a bad reputation among some folk since it recently changed hands...worst thing that ever happened. Definatley won't be returning!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Called in here when visiting Shrewsbury. Lovely olde worlde pub with so much history. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The beer was excellent and so was the food. A very pleasant experience. We are so glad we found this pub after having a bad experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Arrived in Shrewsbury with nothing booked. After visiting several hotels they were full. Called in the tourist info office and they could not find anything. Walking back to the car park we found the kings head. The hotel has new owners and have just started letting rooms. We asked to view before choosing. The room we had was a twin it was recently refurbed and better than the double. It is a pub downstairs and there was a band on. If you don't mind the music it's a great place to stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancsprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
College Hill Guest House
College Hill Guest House
#33 of 55 in Shrewsbury
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Corbet Arms
The Corbet Arms
#1 of 1 in Uffington
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
#15 of 55 in Shrewsbury
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head

Property: Kings Head
Address: 48 Mardol, Shrewsbury SY1 1PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Head Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing