We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Weekend”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Great location for Shrewsbury town centre, right beside the Darwin Shopping Centre. Car park directly behind the hotel, £8.00 per 24 hours.

Rooms typically Premier Inn, ask for one that is not on the same side as the Bus Station. Staff very attentive and facilities good.

Room Tip: Not on he same side as the bus station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    447
    139
    45
    19
See reviews for
295
620
71
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is right in the centre of Shrewsbury. A very new Premier Inn. Parking is rather confusing. We managed to park in wrong car park, but no problem, just told man in charge of car park, that we would be leaving car overnight. He took details, as car park is locked from 7 pm - 7 am, during which time you do not get charged. This Premier Inn had very pleasant restaurant. Not really necessary as there are plenty of eating places close by. Also a much cheaper breakfast can be bought at Wetherspoons 'Shrewsbury Hotel' just along the road, by the Welsh Bridge. We only had one chair in room, asked for another. initially, it looked as tho' it was a problem, but on our return a second chair was installed - so full marks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river on front of Premier Inn, otherwise you will be looking onto car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The Premier Inn in Shrewsbury Town Centre is modern, most staff are very welcoming and friendly. Nothing fancy, just a modern and comfy room.

We stayed as a group of friends and having stayed in numerous hotels around the World, Shrewsbury Premier Inn does not disappoint for the price.

The check-in process was a bit long because the self-check in counters have malfunctioned and there was a queue for manual check in.

But remember to book early for your rooms as their rates go up as the booking date gets nearer. Also make sure you ring them up and ask for rooms facing the River, otherwise you'll get one facing the carpark, not cool!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the River are nicer Don't get rooms facing the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

if you want a large room with plenty of space, a great hot breakfast,clean hotel choose the premier inn. great location for town centre good parking as well river location view.staff were very helpful


  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I was in Shrewsbury for a wedding and booked the brand new Premier Inn. Check-in was a bit of a nighmare.
I had booked online some months ago and had my confirmation number with me. After the clerk entered all the details, I was asked if I had my driving lic with me. As I travelled by train, I did not have my lic. Then I was asked if I had any recently issued utility bills with me ...... Really !! Who goes away for a w/end and brings their telephone or gas bill with them ?

Things were not looking good as the clerk told me Icould not have the room without producing some form of I.D. Not sure what sort of clientele they are expecting at this new hotel, but this was a first for me and I have stayed in many hotels of a far superior class to this one.

The impasse was finally resolved when another member of our group came along to register and he had a passport with him and this was deemed satisfactory evidence for both of us to be permitted to stay !! All a bit o.t.t.

Anyway, that's the bad bit out of the way. Being brand new, the b/rooms are excellent, spotlessly clean and comfortable. We found the rooms very quiet and no traffic noise etc.

We did not eat or drink in the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGannetIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A new clean hotel by the river with friendly staff. My friend got stuck in the lift for a while, but was rescued by other guests. We also ran out of loo roll in the room However, this is not a 5-star hotel, so not that concerned about that. We mentioned these two issues when we checked-out and to our surprise the hotel refunded the booking 100%, so we stayed for free!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeydunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just returned from a weekend here, lovely new Premier Inn.
Lovely helpful staff, clean big rooms. Good location, car park.
Definitely recommend if going to Shrewsbury.
Never tried restaurant, but friends who did said food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveposhhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,147 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
634 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Address: Smithfield Road, Shrewsbury SY1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the medieval town Shrewsbury, 0.3 miles from Shrewsbury train station and within walking distance of the Darwin shopping centre, the magnificent Shrewsbury Castle, Museum, Abbey, Theatre Severn and the beautiful Quarry Park. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking scenic walks and is situated only 3.6 miles from the historic Battlefield. Our Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes.Our Car parking is located underneath Raven Meadows multi-storey car park, follow signs for Raven Meadows and take the left hand turning before entrance. Please note: parking at our hotel is charged £8 per 24 hours in a pay and display ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing