We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand new Premier Inn - handy for rail travellers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Brand new Premier Inn - handy for rail travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I am glad that Premier Inn has strengthened it's presence in the lovely lush county of Shropshire!!

I was attending a folk music event at the Loggerheads pub (see my other review made on an earlier date).

Previously, fans of this hotel chain visiting Shrewsbury by rail had a trek of several miles to reach their hotel at Harmer Hill. This branch is excellently located on a disused site next to the bus station and is only a few hundred yards from Shrewsbury rail station. It is also handy for the historic town centre which is literally a few minutes stroll away, yet cannot be seen from the medieval town and hence in no way spoils it's unique character.

Opening as recently as mid-March, the hotel still feels very new. As you'd expect the rooms meet the usual Premier Inn standards - firm, yet surprisingly comfortable large beds and spotless bathrooms. Despite being near to the busy main road alongside the river, the standard of soundproofing was very good and I had no problems sleeping. Indeed I thought the hotel was rather empty, so was quite surprised going down to breakfast in the restaurant where it seemed very busy.

This hotel has a "Thyme" branded restaurant which is light and spacious. I didn't have an evening meal here but as usual the £8.25 all you can eat breakfast buffet didn't disappoint. I'm especially fond of their breakfast sausages which have a nice seasoning and aren't too greasy. Very more-ish!!

The staff in all areas of the hotel were friendly, helpful and cheerful. I'm certain to be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewms14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide some lovely feedback regarding your stay with us in July. Delighted to hear you had a comfortable and quiet stay (despite the full capacity). We hope you enjoyed your time at the Loggerheads pub and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    399
    116
    35
    16
See reviews for
256
556
65
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

we visited in july 2013 to visit a friend who moved to the area, never having visited shrewsbury before, fairly easy to find if you research first, though signs are currently on order to guide you there! Car parking is fine, there is a charge, but if you are palnning to see shrewsbury on foot, your car is safely tucked away all day. On arrival we were warmly welcomed, check in was easy and efficient, 1st impressions were all very shiny, new and chic, love! Entry to all secure areas by card, room was gorgeous, stunning and comfortable, love, love, love! Only disappointing issue for us was that we booked for breakfast on ourr last morning, so looking forward to our costa coffee and we came down to be told the machine was broken!

Room Tip: all the rooms will be fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasaliDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments about our hotel, here at Shrewsbury. We are pleased to hear you found our rooms comfortable, ‘gorgeous’ and ‘stunning’. We do take great pride in our property. I do apologise about the Costa machine during your visit. This problem was shortly passed onto the restaurant manager and then quickly resolved. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Friendly and informative staff, comfortable beds and a fantastic location. A great hotel for a nice holiday in Shropshire. Good facilities for breakfast. And in room temperature control (great in this heat)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHunter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. We are delighted to hear you found everything in the hotel to your liking and that our staff were welcoming and on hand to help out. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

When we visited in May, this hotel had very recently opened and was still suffering a few snagging issues. For example, our room door didn’t lock from the inside because the door had shifted and things weren’t lining up properly.

On account of it being brand new, it was extremely clean and tidy. Our room was spacious and comfortable, but there were a few annoyances that were, as it were, built in and that couldn’t be rectified except by means of exchanging rooms on a roll until one was found that totally fitted the bill, which we couldn’t be bothered to do. The problems weren’t enough to encourage us to do this and we’d already changed rooms once because the first one we were given was right next to what sounded like a plant room with a constant drone emitting from it.

The aforementioned annoyances were, firstly, that there was no mobile phone reception anywhere within the hotel except, it seemed, on the very top floor. WiFi in the room was free for just half an hour, but that obviously ran out pretty quickly. Secondly, the stairs were very resonant and boomy when anyone was using them. Thirdly, the windows had no opening facility at all. A notice next to them affirmed this, and gave the reason that it was for the safety of the guests! How crazy is that!? Are they concerned that their patrons may be considering throwing themselves out the window on a regular basis? Is this happening all over the world in hotels with opening windows? It's more than likely actually for economy – windows that open probably cost more than those that don’t. If it really is Health & Safety, then it’s a continuation of the insanity we have to endure these days on its account. Anyway, the fact that no fresh air was ever allowed to enter the room meant that, despite the air conditioning, it felt perpetually stuffy. Which proves there's no sustitute for genuine fresh air. As it was, the sealed windows weren’t efficient enough to eliminate the noise of a Premier Inn delivery truck outside making a racket. More Health & Safety nonsense was on a notice in the bathroom, warning that there was hot water in the taps! No s**t, Sherlock! It’s a world gone mad, I tell you.

The hotel is well placed for the amenities of the lovely town of Shrewsbury. Not sure if we’d stay there again, though.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top away from the stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diximix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to leave us with feedback regarding your stay, earlier on in the year. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment caused. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide our guests with a high standard of service and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. With regards to the doors not locking from the inside, I’d just like to let you know that this was passed onto maintenance and the problem is now cured. I do hope that we will welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Over the years i have stayed at a number of Premier Inns, and Travelodge and this was by far the best. Some of this was due to it still being nice and new, but the staff were exceptionaly friendly. This applied not just to contact staff but the cleaners one tended to bump into in the corridors.
Ideally situated next to the bus centre, through which you can easily gain access to the High Street, via an escalator which leads into one of the shopping centers so avoiding the climb, as they are on diff levels. It did take me a few "round the blocks" to find the entrance to the car park, i may have missed it on day one but a new sign was visable on day two. The breakfast, in terms of quality, ambience and service was excellent. They apologised for the fact that this was self service on the Saturday, though i quite liked this as i could get quantities "just right" even when asking for a small full english i tend to be given too much. My only critiscm, bigger fruit juice glasses please! The price, booking in advance was very reasonable, even when adding in breakfast and parking. Will stay again if i have reason to visit.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
I would just like to say thank you for your very kind feedback about your stay with us in the summer. ‘By far the best’, we could not ask for a better compliment. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Firstly, the plus points. This Premier Inn is conveniently situated close to the railway station and all amenities. Being new, it is freshly decorated. The staff are friendly, and my room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food in Thyme restaurant was up to the usual Premier Inn standard.
However, there are some criticisms. Firstly, the 'quick and easy' self check in systems were both out of order. No one was manning reception. I had to wait in a hot queue before someone turned up to offer assistance.
Secondly, a group of men were also staying here. Whilst eating my food, I found them very loud and did not appreciate their offensive language. I complained to the staff, but they were not asked to tone it down. If I had spent a second night here, I would have ate out to avoid them.
As a result, I did not enjoy this Premier Inn as much as others, and probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigFatBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us in the summer.
We are very sorry that you were disturbed during your evening meal by other guests and that the quick and easy check in systems were unavailable. Just to make you aware, the machines are now back up and running as normal, ensuring that the check in process is a lot quicker for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here to meet up with some friends. It's a Premier Inn so you have stayed in one before you'll know what to expect. As previous reviews have said this is a new hotel so it is still clean and sparkly and has its own bar and restaurant. Good location for the town centre, breakfasts are good and bar prices reasonable. TIP: we stayed Friday evening to Sunday morning. Our friends parked in the dedicated Premier Inn car park spaces and had to pay £16 pay and display. We parked in the same car park but in the normal pay on exit bays and paid £9.80 only paying for the hours we stayed rather than whole 24 hour periods. The only disadvantage to this is the normal car park is locked overnight so you can't get to your car but if that doesn't bother you use the public spaces.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Many thanks for you comments regarding your stay a Premier Inn, Shrewsbury. We are pleased to hear we are getting it right for our guests. And look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.2 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Address: Smithfield Road, Shrewsbury SY1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the medieval town Shrewsbury, 0.3 miles from Shrewsbury train station and within walking distance of the Darwin shopping centre, the magnificent Shrewsbury Castle, Museum, Abbey, Theatre Severn and the beautiful Quarry Park. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking scenic walks and is situated only 3.6 miles from the historic Battlefield. Our Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes.Our Car parking is located underneath Raven Meadows multi-storey car park, follow signs for Raven Meadows and take the left hand turning before entrance. Please note: parking at our hotel is charged £8 per 24 hours in a pay and display ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing