We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Have never stayed at a Premier Inn before(at least I don't think we have) but have got to say that this particular one was absolutely fantastic! Maybe it's due to it being quite new but the hotel was lovely and clean with very large spacious rooms. Bathroom was a great size with a wonderfully powerful shower.
Location was superb with just a two minute walk to get into the town centre and also with multi storey parking just metres from the hotel.
Even though we had a room at the front of the hotel it was lovely and quiet as promised.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren-E73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Perfect location, less than 5 minutes walk from train station and minutes walk into town centre.
Staff excellent, welcoming, efficient and friendly.
Rooms and facilities of premier standard.
Across the road "Lily's Tea Garden" afternoon tea and breakfast overlooking the river.
Dinner at Bistro Jacques (a must, especially if you are from Liverpool)
Looking forward to next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What you'd expect from a Premier Inn - very new building, quality of rooms good as ever, excellent staff (pleasant, cheerful, well-trained etc).

BUT well worth being aware of the car park issues mentioned elsewhere. On our first night we went in to the Raven Meadows car park as per Sat Nav instructions - only after getting a ticket and entering did we become aware that (a) the Premier Inn has its own section of the car park which you enter via the back and (b) the rest of the car park closes from 7pm to 7am meaning no access to the car. This wasn't really a hassle, apart from added difficulty moving bags, and the cost was the same so we stayed put.

There are road signs pointing the way to the Premier Inn parking, but using Sat Nav we didn't notice them. However, although we used the Premier Inn car park for our second night, it was far from ideal - not just the (high) £8 charge, but also the fact that you have to pay and display for a full 24 hours even though there are insufficient spaces. After parking and paying the full charge in the afternoon, we would not have been able to regain a space had we chosen to drive to a restaurant in the evening - this wasn't necessary for us given the number of restaurants close by, but it is not clear what happens if you pay for 24 hours (you can't pay for less) and then move your car only to find there are no spaces when you return and the rest of the car park is closed. I suspect this happened to others who were staying as cars were parked outside of designated spaces, but this is something that they would have regretted as a warden visited both mornings at 8am and gave out tickets.

We didn't raise this with the hotel as it didn't overly cause us problems - they may have an answer - but it all seems a little unsatisfactory and something they'd do well to resolve / clarify.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the park not the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricWhiteside7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An above average Premier Inn in the heart of the City centre within easy reach of the Castle and Regimental Museum , Abbey and Cathedral. It was just a pity that the car park is so very hard to find even with a Satnav, so it needs clear signage. When we did eventually find the car park it is £8.00 per day so factor that in to your spending. We used the Thyme restaurant and it was an excellent meal for which on this occasion we chose the meal deal which was Excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRACY632013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Apart from the awkward parking arrangement this is a fantastic Premier Inn - make sure you have the help yourself all you can eat breakfast- the coffee's from an excellent, clean Costa machine and the food is hot, fresh and plentiful. The staff are helpful polite and efficient keeping the restaurant tidy and great with keeping people's kids happy. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We know Premier Inns are built to accommodate a couple of nights. They do not have a personality but are comfortable and clean.
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre was no exception but the service was a whole new ball game. The waiting staff did not seem to have any leadership. It took a long time for tables to be cleared, they could not cope with a drinks order of more than two at a time, our bill was messed up, should I continue !!! This kind of spoilt the whole ethos of Premier Inn efficiency.
On the plus side, our TV had a really bad signal, when it was realised that it could not be fixed we were put into a new room, quite extreme but important to us as we wake really early.
Our last morning at breakfast however was much better but it appeared to have someone in charge, quite bad planning for a bank holiday weekend!!
Shrewsbury is lovely though :-)

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the road but you can see the lovely riverside. Back rooms overlook a multi stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here in the middle of May 2014 and we're extremely impressed. The hotel is immaculate and the staff friendly, polite and very helpful. We enjoyed a superb meal in the restaurant and the buffet breakfast was well presented, well cooked and extensive. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it most heartily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonfly350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
648 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel

Address: Smithfield Road, Shrewsbury SY1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the medieval town Shrewsbury, 0.3 miles from Shrewsbury train station and within walking distance of the Darwin shopping centre, the magnificent Shrewsbury Castle, Museum, Abbey, Theatre Severn and the beautiful Quarry Park. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking scenic walks and is situated only 3.6 miles from the historic Battlefield. Our Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes.Our Car parking is located underneath Raven Meadows multi-storey car park, follow signs for Raven Meadows and take the left hand turning before entrance. Please note: parking at our hotel is charged £8 per 24 hours in a pay and display ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing