We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Army reunion 2014 June”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Army reunion 2014 June”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at premier inn town centre great hotel, great staff, good location, Each year we have a army reunion at copthorne barracks, this a two day affair first week in June.
This year I was charged £131 pounds for a double room for two nights, next year 2014 they have quoted me £212 for two nights, ????????????????? So that's 106£ per night????????? When asked why the big difference I was told, and I quote, We have been told by head office to put our prices up because we can guarantee to fill the hotel up. Well premier inn, we are ex soldiers who have served this country,most of us on a basic pension. I will not be frequenting your hotel in the further as will many of my comrades. Ripp off.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the back of the hotel facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donylad5900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    415
    118
    37
    17
See reviews for
266
567
68
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanbedr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here before, good parking and at £8 for 24 hours was excellent value. Room was clean, helpful staff and at £29 for the night, again excellent value. Will certainly stay here again. Lovely view over the river.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gaz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed once again in this new, clean hotel. Asked for top floor to stay away from any noise and it was no problem. Quiet, clean and plenty of room, comfy bed all unlike Travelodge hotels Very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast great too.
would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the weekend along with some friends. The location is great, although situated in the town, it's by the river. We are fans of Premier Inns, and this one didn't disappoint. The room was spotlessly clean, very friendly staff, great breakfast, though on the Sunday morning there seemed a staff shortage in the dining area and it seemed a bit hectic for the young staff who were on duty. They were unsure if the hot buffet breakfast was going to be served, instead a hot breakfast could be served to the table if required. However after a short time we were told the buffet would be available. I think everything was just running a bit behind schedule. Despite this, they coped well, and with a smile!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a fairly new hotel, very big, 6 floors, and modern, everything you expect from Premier Inns quality throughout, nice friendly staff, good all you can eat brekkie, check out at 12 what more do you want? Excellent for looking around Shrewsbury a nice town, good pubs and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80marines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Everything from the staff, location , restaurant to the comfortable room was excellent. Have been twice within 3 months and am looking forward to goiing again. Have recommended hotel to friends. The only criticism was locating the car park. Details should be given when booking

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Can not fault the hotel. Great service, great friendly staff, clean and tidy, good breakfast, good bar prices, comfy beds. No complaints about the fixtures and fittings.

But why oh why do Premier think customers are happy with only 30 minutes free WiFi?!?! I would like and now expect 24/7 Free WiFi.

Final moan, other guests smoking in their rooms. Stop it now! It smells and is also illegal now!!!

Would highly recommend for a stay in Shrewsbury.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
1,079 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Address: Smithfield Road, Shrewsbury SY1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the medieval town Shrewsbury, 0.3 miles from Shrewsbury train station and within walking distance of the Darwin shopping centre, the magnificent Shrewsbury Castle, Museum, Abbey, Theatre Severn and the beautiful Quarry Park. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking scenic walks and is situated only 3.6 miles from the historic Battlefield. Our Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes.Our Car parking is located underneath Raven Meadows multi-storey car park, follow signs for Raven Meadows and take the left hand turning before entrance. Please note: parking at our hotel is charged £8 per 24 hours in a pay and display ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing