We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Location Polite Staff - one of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Great Location Polite Staff - one of the best”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stopped at the Premier inn because its location was ideal for the Shrewsbury Flower Show . The parking facility not provided by the hotel was inflexible , only selling a £8 24hr ticket . We did not like the idea of returning to the car every 24hrs to put on a new ticket so instead we went round the corner to the Main Multi Story which charges by the hour . You cannot access your car when the carpark is closed but that bother us as your right in the middle of town . We had a surprise on our last night when we returned late at night to find our room had not been made up . The duty manager was great however giving us clean towels and coffee for the morning - we were given Breakfast the next morning and arrangements made for their head office to give a refund.

Room Tip: They have very good tripple glazed windows - no sound . 4th floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz_Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    440
    131
    44
    19
See reviews for
285
609
71
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very comfortable room, very good facilities. Excellent customer service. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and good value.
The hotel is in a great location for visiting all places of interest in Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperance
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family recently stayed for 4 nights at this Premier Inn and couldn't have been happier with this new Premier Inn. Air conditioning in the rooms is a huge plus compared to many other Premier Inns we have stayed at, location is fantastic, and the staff are so, so helpful! Thank you particularly to Sue who went above and beyond to assist us with the parking situation at this hotel. Parking is the only negative here and has been mentioned many times, perhaps include it in room charges if customers are driving and reserve the bays specifically for each room in the private car park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbfabfunEsperance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My first experience od the Premier Inn range. Very very impressed. I have travelled all over the world and this has to be the cleanest room I have stayed in. Well done to the cleaning team - first class. I also happen to be a BICS'c Assessor so I know about cleanliness..
Excellent location, right in the heart of Shrewsbury. Very helpful and polite staff, and yes a great nights sleep.
One tip - no windows are permitted to open because of H & S

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We hadn't stayed at a Premier Inn for a long time (before I started doing tripadvisor reviews) and to be honest it wasn't our hotel of choice ... but we were pleasantly surprised. It was clean, comfortable and above all quiet. We had a road facing room and didn't here the traffic at all - excellent soundproofing & double glazing. The only downside was that the windows didn't open but the air con worked perfectly. Didn't eat at the hotel, though the all you can eat breakfast seemed reasonable value. Check-in and check out worked well and was quick.The only downside was that for a budget hotel it was on the expensive side - we assumed because of the flower show and we left the booking late ... and that after 30 minutes wi-fi was payable. That said I'd definieitly have no problems staying here again and using the premier inn brand.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Overall very good stay. Breakfast seemed expensive so a walk into town is a cheaper option. Bar staff seemed confused about "Happy Hour" but I enjoyed my drinks. Disappointed no night service upon returning to hotel. However taking all of this into account it was excellent value for money and would highly recommend to friends and family. The location was prefect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked this hotel because we wanted to visit the Flower show, decided to travel by train as parking at this Inn was limited , excellent location near to Station and town centre, facilities in this hotel ideal, although we decided we would not eat in the restaurant because it was not suitable. Overall the rooms and Staff were excellent, although breakfast food could have been hotter.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
621 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Address: Smithfield Road, Shrewsbury SY1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the medieval town Shrewsbury, 0.3 miles from Shrewsbury train station and within walking distance of the Darwin shopping centre, the magnificent Shrewsbury Castle, Museum, Abbey, Theatre Severn and the beautiful Quarry Park. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking scenic walks and is situated only 3.6 miles from the historic Battlefield. Our Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes.Our Car parking is located underneath Raven Meadows multi-storey car park, follow signs for Raven Meadows and take the left hand turning before entrance. Please note: parking at our hotel is charged £8 per 24 hours in a pay and display ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing