We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed for the night with three children, from six months to 7 years old. Facilities were excellent, the only gripe was having to pay so much for car parking! Also, the fire alarm went off which was a little annoying (false alarm) but I suppose it kept us safe!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Not sure why we do stay in Premier Inns because I get so wound up with the fact that you can't open bedroom windows and I don't like using the air con. Bit shocked at the self service check in. Staff we did come across were helpful though. Also, why is it such an alien concept to expect a mirror to be put at the desk/dressing table, I am not disabled but I do have mobility problems and to have to stand at the long mirror to dry/tong hair is very uncomfortable. Breakfast (continental) good. Do your research on the car park arrangements/access before you go. VERY hard bed, not comfortable,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mollymooPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel staff were as always excellent, the rooms very clean and the breakfast as expected so why not 5 stars? 1) Our double bed was squeaky and we were too British to complain and move rooms as others appear to have done. 2) You have to pay extra for parking. 3) the TV could not have been much smaller. That said, the location is great, the price was unbeatable and I would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Check your bed for squeaks before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank po_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn we appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests.
I just wanted to ask what room number you were, if you remember, so that I can get the bed frame/mattress checked? Our email is shrewsburytowncentre.pi@premierinn.com
The brand new premier inn bedroom style has really big flatscreens mounted on the wall and they look amazing so all the hotels are being upgraded to this style in the next few years, they have definitely been listening to the feedback and have taken on board the changing technology in televisions.
Once again thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We used the hotel as a base while we were in the area. It was very clean, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious. As as been mentioned in previous reviews parking was very limited and spaces tight but for us it was not a problem as we arrived quite early. Sign posting to the car park was not very clear from the direction we came from so it took a while for us to find the car park. Would have given sleep quality a five rating but on our second night the fire alarm sounded but this was not the fault of the premier inn

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Stand72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great hotel with fantastic staff and service. All staff were friendly polite and happy!! Especially helpful was sue in reception.
Great clean and spotless room (even though 1st room bed was very squeaky!!)
Only problem was the car parking. It was too tight and very difficult to fit a saloon car in it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aprilbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights...room was spotless...staff were polite...location of hotel was wonderful....will return, can't fault it...the bed was extremely comfy..parking spaces at the rear of the hotel are not very wide but it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: To be honest, all the rooms are the same and even though it is on a main road it was very quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stopped at the Premier inn because its location was ideal for the Shrewsbury Flower Show . The parking facility not provided by the hotel was inflexible , only selling a £8 24hr ticket . We did not like the idea of returning to the car every 24hrs to put on a new ticket so instead we went round the corner to the Main Multi Story which charges by the hour . You cannot access your car when the carpark is closed but that bother us as your right in the middle of town . We had a surprise on our last night when we returned late at night to find our room had not been made up . The duty manager was great however giving us clean towels and coffee for the morning - we were given Breakfast the next morning and arrangements made for their head office to give a refund.

Room Tip: They have very good tripple glazed windows - no sound . 4th floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daz_Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
645 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel

Address: Smithfield Road, Shrewsbury SY1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £44 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the medieval town Shrewsbury, 0.3 miles from Shrewsbury train station and within walking distance of the Darwin shopping centre, the magnificent Shrewsbury Castle, Museum, Abbey, Theatre Severn and the beautiful Quarry Park. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking scenic walks and is situated only 3.6 miles from the historic Battlefield. Our Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes.Our Car parking is located underneath Raven Meadows multi-storey car park, follow signs for Raven Meadows and take the left hand turning before entrance. Please note: parking at our hotel is charged £8 per 24 hours in a pay and display ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing