We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, welcoming stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, welcoming stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night during August and the hotel could not have been more welcoming. Staff friendly and accommodating, and the rooms clean and comfortable. Car park not the easiest to find and we ended up on the wrong one initially but soon sorted out. Car park a little on the expensive side but not unexpected given its prime location in the heart of Shrewsbury. Highly recommended!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheWren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    431
    126
    43
    19
See reviews for
279
596
70
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Excellent stay at Premier Inn, Shrewsbury. Clean room, good food, friendly and helpful staff. Good location, close to town centre, and next to bus station. Very convenient for folk festival, or any other event at the showground. Nice view across the river.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed for the night with three children, from six months to 7 years old. Facilities were excellent, the only gripe was having to pay so much for car parking! Also, the fire alarm went off which was a little annoying (false alarm) but I suppose it kept us safe!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Not sure why we do stay in Premier Inns because I get so wound up with the fact that you can't open bedroom windows and I don't like using the air con. Bit shocked at the self service check in. Staff we did come across were helpful though. Also, why is it such an alien concept to expect a mirror to be put at the desk/dressing table, I am not disabled but I do have mobility problems and to have to stand at the long mirror to dry/tong hair is very uncomfortable. Breakfast (continental) good. Do your research on the car park arrangements/access before you go. VERY hard bed, not comfortable,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollymooPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel staff were as always excellent, the rooms very clean and the breakfast as expected so why not 5 stars? 1) Our double bed was squeaky and we were too British to complain and move rooms as others appear to have done. 2) You have to pay extra for parking. 3) the TV could not have been much smaller. That said, the location is great, the price was unbeatable and I would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Check your bed for squeaks before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank po_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrewsburyTownCentre, Manager at Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn we appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests.
I just wanted to ask what room number you were, if you remember, so that I can get the bed frame/mattress checked? Our email is shrewsburytowncentre.pi@premierinn.com
The brand new premier inn bedroom style has really big flatscreens mounted on the wall and they look amazing so all the hotels are being upgraded to this style in the next few years, they have definitely been listening to the feedback and have taken on board the changing technology in televisions.
Once again thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We used the hotel as a base while we were in the area. It was very clean, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious. As as been mentioned in previous reviews parking was very limited and spaces tight but for us it was not a problem as we arrived quite early. Sign posting to the car park was not very clear from the direction we came from so it took a while for us to find the car park. Would have given sleep quality a five rating but on our second night the fire alarm sounded but this was not the fault of the premier inn

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stand72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great hotel with fantastic staff and service. All staff were friendly polite and happy!! Especially helpful was sue in reception.
Great clean and spotless room (even though 1st room bed was very squeaky!!)
Only problem was the car parking. It was too tight and very difficult to fit a saloon car in it!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
645 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Address: Smithfield Road, Shrewsbury SY1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the medieval town Shrewsbury, 0.3 miles from Shrewsbury train station and within walking distance of the Darwin shopping centre, the magnificent Shrewsbury Castle, Museum, Abbey, Theatre Severn and the beautiful Quarry Park. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking scenic walks and is situated only 3.6 miles from the historic Battlefield. Our Shrewsbury Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes.Our Car parking is located underneath Raven Meadows multi-storey car park, follow signs for Raven Meadows and take the left hand turning before entrance. Please note: parking at our hotel is charged £8 per 24 hours in a pay and display ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing