We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place”
Review of Lilys Tea Garden

Lilys Tea Garden
Ranked #4 of 26 Coffee & Tea in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A beautiful, secret garden nestled on the banks of the River Severn within walking distance of Shrewsbury Bus & Train Stations, serving breakfast, lunches, snacks and traditional afternoon teas
Thornton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful place”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a delightful afternoon spent along the Severn drinking tea. The food was tasty and the service was top-notch. Kudos all around.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    23
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nicest summer cafe in Shrewsbury. ”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to this delightful garden cafe several times and never been disappointed. The setting is gorgeous and full of character. As others have said it is accessed down some steps off the main road into a wonderful secret garden full of mature plants and quirky decorations and we discover new ones every time we visit. It is all outdoors but there is plenty of shade if wanted and the views of the river are outstanding. It is quite rightly popular but we have always found a seat, or the staff will produce a table and chairs from storage somewhere. The cafe is closed in winter but this is for very good reasons. Firstly sitting outside by the river in the cold lacks appeal unless you are very hardy. Secondly and importantly, the garden appears to flood every winter as there are chalk marks on the toilet door to show how high it floods. One flood is as high as the toilet door!
I have been here with my husband and my children several times and the staff are unfailingly cheerful and helpful. The food is fresh, generous portions and very reasonably priced. My husband had a large ham baguette served with coleslaw(home made and very good) and chips. I had salmon fishcakes, coleslaw and chips with the nicest lemon drizzle cake and cream. As it was a lovely hot day we also ordered 2 ciders which arrived in pint glasses. My husband commented that was very good value at £2.00 each. We spent a very enjoyable long lunch eating and and watching the ducks on the river and left feeling full and happy from another Lily's experience. There are a lot of nice places to eat in Shrewsbury but I really believe that on a sunny day Lily's is just the nicest place in Shrewsbury.

Helpful?
3 Thank JoeandJulie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just lush!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I love this place!! Beautiful setting in a quirky, leafy, pretty garden overlooking the River Severn. Feels like you're on holiday here, so tranquil... It was a gorgeous sunny day when we went yesterday and I honestly couldn't think of a more perfect place to sit and enjoy the sunshine. I only had a cold drink, so cannot comment on the food. Good bar though, plenty of choice and cheap too! Good choice of places to sit, some seats in small private areas of the garden and very friendly staff - what more could you ask for?!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JustineQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We traveled up to Shrewsbury early thursday morning from Sheffield for a three day break. We were staying at the Premier inn town centre. We d had busy three hours walking round the town and we heading back to the hotel for a siesta when we spotted this place just across the road from the hotel.
We walked down the little path into an enchanted garden { yep , thats what its like} full of vines , flowers and wind chimes. The tea garden is literally on river side. We were going to have a cuppa but we found out the place was licenced { yay!!} . We only had one beer each but I dont think I ve ever enjoyed a drink as much. We were feeling absolutely knackered after our long day, and it was so relaxing just to sit there and watch the river go by, accompanied by the wind charms of course. We only had the one night in Shrewsbury. But if we d have had more time we would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goanblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having lived in Whitchurch, 20 miles north of Shewsbury for 17 years we just happened to come across Lilys Tea Garden by chance.

A great find! Right by the river and wonderful service.

We just had drinks but it was very relaxing and wonderful views.

Will definitely return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NKBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lilys Tea Garden also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Lilys Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing