We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The secret garden... Love it!”
Review of Lilys Tea Garden

Lilys Tea Garden
Ranked #5 of 26 Coffee & Tea in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A beautiful, secret garden nestled on the banks of the River Severn within walking distance of Shrewsbury Bus & Train Stations, serving breakfast, lunches, snacks and traditional afternoon teas
Shrewsbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The secret garden... Love it!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love this place. I'm a frequent visitor as I live quite close... Lovely food and friendly owners... Definitely worth a visit. Beautiful views of the river and the garden is just magical.... I 100% recommend. Dogs are very welcome too :-)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Punkii4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily T, Owner at Lilys Tea Garden, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    23
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly, quirky charm.....highly recommended”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We reserved for lunch and wended our way through rose and climber garden arches decked with soggy cuddly toys ( thats the quirky bit!) to the best table....charming private outdoor dining beside the river.....menu basic but delicious ...I can recommend the salmon/potato fish cakes...just like my mum used to make.
The rain came and we were ushered to outdoor shelter ....a charming british ( i.e soggy) version of a taverna ; we loved being outside dry but watching the rain on the river not to mention the young boaters celebrating their A-level results with a river trip.
Such a novelty to have coffee refills offered affably and promptly.
Be Warned! Allow enough time for the fresh cooking and consider booking...Lily's "shabby- we could flood any moment- charm" means that this is not a place that people rush away from ..there is no fast turn over of tables...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sambamsambam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily T, Owner at Lilys Tea Garden, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thanks for bearing with us and the weather. Sometimes it's not easy, is it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Came here with my mother, beautiful little secret garden. Fantastic staff made feel very welcome, brilliant food (especially knocorbocker glory) loved the bobby the dog great atmosphere with beautiful river views and special even in the rain

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tris01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily T, Owner at Lilys Tea Garden, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thanks for picking us as the venue for your birthday lunch in the rain. You must be madder than us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankland, Western Australia.
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Smell of bacon drew me in”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

As we walked along the River Severn the aroma of bacon reached our nostrils, which led us to Lily's tea garden. We were disapointed when told that bacon had been on the breakfast menu and it was now lunch time. However, once I told the proprietrer what had drawn us in, he was only too willing to cook whatever we wanted. So a full English breakfast for two was ordered and we thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. Not only was the service good, the food delicious, the proximity of our table to the river was delightful. I left the cafe feeling very satisfied in all respects. I forgot to mention that the garden is beautiful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily T, Owner at Lilys Tea Garden, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Eve, how could we turn you down when you've traveled all around the world to see us? Hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the UK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a surprise, a real nod towards a jungle-y riverside tea garden. Reminded me of several little stop off places in India. I loved the originality of the space and the little nooks and crannies. Fantastic!. The menu is pretty basic but good value. I thought that Shrewsbury was missing an interesting and decent place along the river but Lily's has fitted that gap nicely!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily T, Owner at Lilys Tea Garden, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thanks Craig. We like your style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lilys Tea Garden also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Lilys Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing