We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old House Suites
Ranked #10 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We only had a one night stay unfortunately in this town centre b&b. Couldn't fault anything. We were made.v welcome lovely room with fab en suite and roll top bath with a view! The breakfast was beautifully presented in a fascinating room; as explained by Tony in the 45 minute tour he kindly provides (if wanted). If you are interested in the Tudors you will love this place. Oh & handy for the shops, pubs,castle etc.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our second visit with Tony & Mary at The Old House, we stayed in the Mary Tudor Suite, it was just superb with great views over the Severn, comfy bed, great en suite. Breakfast was better than you will get in a 5 star hotel served in the best period breakfast room you will ever see. Do not hesitate book today, it is like staying in an old English National Trust property but with all the comforts and service of a 5 star hotel.
If you book a minimum of 2 nights or more you get a bottle of Champagne thrown in, that was a pleasant surprise.
The box of extra goodies that are in the room to purchase if you wish are all very reasonably priced and contains great stuff!
Car parking also included in room price at NCP just around the corner.
We will be back !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently stayed at The Old House Suites for 2 nights, having never been to Shropshire or Shrewsbury before.

This B&B may be a bit pricier than the other establishments BUT you get real value for money here. The location is fantastic, the suites are both comfortable and luxurious, the history is fascinating and the hosts are wonderful.

Our room - the Mary Tudor Suite - was immaculately presented and has a large sitting area and a massive en suite bath/ shower room. On top of this, the view is fantastic. We were welcomed with a bottle of bubbly and a fruit bowl, which, after a long journey, was a wonderful treat and we watched the sun go down from the window whilst enjoying both. Tony is a fantastic host, with a genuine love of his home's history that is contagious - make sure that you go on his tour of the house, it was one of the highlights of our trip!

Highly recommended, and am hoping to visit again before too long.

Room Tip: Mary Tudor Suite is wonderful, but I don't think you'll go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in the Thomas Bromley suite for one night last week.. Wish we were there for longer though.

First impressions were fantastic, what a room! I have never stayed in anywhere with so much character in my life, the beams were great although my boyfriend had a few bumps to his head, they were worth it.

The bed was so comfy, the bath luxurious and we were shocked by the amount of space we had. The view and the window seats were also fab. There are snacks available in the room, although we only had a packet of crisps all items were extremely reasonable!

I have never had such a yummy breakfast! The scrambled eggs were so tasty! And the room where this was served was gorgeous, we were sat in the bay window, overlooking the street. Tablecloth, jug of orange juice, fresh flowers, fresh coffee, nice cutlery and plates, Perfect. What an experience.

We had a tour from Tony which was also very interesting!

I can honestly say I have never stayed in a nicer place. We will be back, as will both our parents when we book them both a surprise night away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a warm welcome and the house is enchanting. We stayed in the beautiful Catherine of Aragon Suite which includes its own sitting room, shower room and bathroom. The hosts couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful We enjoyed Tony's informative and interesting tour of the house. A visit from Indi the ginger cat just added to the special experience. Breakfast was cooked well and we didn't need lunch! Thank you for a lovely time and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DottyP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay with friends and we couldn't recommed The Old House Suites enough. From the moment we arrived Tony, Mary and Fred couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the beautiful Catherine of Aragon Suite with its own sitting room and our stay was made even more special from a visit from Indi the cat. A lovely bottle of bubbly before dinner was a real treat. The house is truly amazing and you shouldn't miss Tony's fascinating and witty tour. Pre-ordered breakfast was lovely and certainly set us up for day. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely return. A big thank you to you all for making our stay so special - Suzanne & Paul Binley

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneBinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Having spent a few days in South Wales we decided to stop off for a couple of nights in the beautiful and historic town of Shrewsbury. The Old House is indeed old...probably dating back to 1520. Thanks to Tony's optional tour we learned this and many other Tudor facts which brought alive the experience of staying in such a fantastic house right in the centre of a lovely town offering a wealth of restaurants, pubs and shops. Our room was large, bright, airy and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced and we were shown where to buy some of the bacon....yes it was that good. The Old House is a well run family home with a lovely welcoming atmosphere. Tony and his family are approachable and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. We were helped with car parking and given plenty of advice regarding where to eat and visit. Many thanks to you all. When we are back in town you will be our only choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhawkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
698 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Suites

Address: The Old House 20 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £85 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House in Dogpole sits on an original Anglo-Saxon plot leading down to the River Severn. After the Norman Conquest in 1066, Shrewsbury was fortified and the town wall cut through the garden, but the plot remained intact. The house was rebuilt as a timber framed Tudor mansion around two massive brick chimneys in the late 1490s and retains much of this original character. The house had strong connections with Catherine of Aragon. She married Arthur (brother of Henry VIII) at nearby Ludlow Castle in South Shropshire where she finally returned after her divorce from her later marriage to Henry VIII. Members of the Rocke family were courtiers of Catherine and also owners of The Old House, and there is a tradition that Mary Tudor stayed in the house on her way to visit her mother. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old House Hotel Shrewsbury
The Old House Suites Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing