We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, comfy home just off the Severn River trail...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 53

Sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room
Queen Street Sitting room with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Sitting room
Queen Street
Sitting room with log burner
Kitchen
No 53 from the street
Double bedroom
View from french doors
Kitchen
Welcome gifts
Dining room ready for guest with wine & homemade biscuits
Double bedroom at front of house
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Single room
En-suite shower room
Family bathroom
Garden - Winter
From patio and BBQ looking down the garden
From garden looking towards house
Garden in June
Garden
Garden from washing line
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MeMongo
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Quiet, comfy home just off the Severn River trail to downtown!"”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The home is exactly what we sought in terms of a row house just off the banks of the Severn River. We started each day with a walk along the river to Quarry Park, stopping for coffee and pastries at our favorite cafes. The three bedroom home is well maintained with all the conveniences one requires. Rhian was prompt and eager to help us familiarize ourselves with the details of the home. We really appreciated her cordial hospitality and availability. She insured that we were always comfortable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Really pleased we lived up to expectations. I also love that walk along the river to the Quary park. Best wishes Rhian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, well-equipped 3-bedroom house with great access to town and countryside, perfect for families with children”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great place for families, especially those with children and/or travelling with in-laws or a group and who want to have a holiday with easy access to Shrewsbury and surroundings but are not keen to be squeezed in multiple hotel rooms.

The house is in a great location for spending the day away, walking or visiting Attingham Park etc but having easy access to Shrewsbury without the need to drive and look for parking. The town centre is a 10-15min walk on the well-lit path along the river, used by many joggers.

The house is in a nice residential area, with a small supermarket and nice pubs quite close. The area is quiet and feels safe late in the evening, with quite a few neighbours walking their dogs. The house is very clean and is equipped with everything needed for a holiday. My boys were delighted to discover a cupboard full of children's books for all ages - there was no need for us to bring bedtime story books . There is also a well-selected range of books, maps of Shropshire and tourist information etc. Wi-Fi was excellent and accommodated multiple devices at the same time.

Rhian, the owner, was very friendly and gave us a lot of useful tips. We liked very much her home-made biscuits and the bottle of merlot she chose for us. We plan to come again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very nice house in a great location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thankyou Victor, glad you all enjoyed your trip. I'd be delighted to see you again, I look forward to hearing from you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review Alison & Steve, much appreciated. You were great guests, I look forward to seeing you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ep5
london
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice enough for a weekend away.”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

we stayed for 4 nights and had a really nice time but had a few niggles - that said Rhiana could not have been more pleasant or helpful.

the walk to town and the flower show was lovely and kept us fit !!! as we decided not to use the car once we had parked it for fear of loosing our spot

The cottage was well enough equipped and seating in the lounge was fine for 3 of us and we were out a lot - but for 4 or 5 you may be a little cramped.
Unfortunately there had been some painting just before we arrived and i am particularly sensitive to smells/allergies so had to sleep with the windows open but still found it stank every time i woke in the night ... just unfortunate timing and i was probably the worst guest you could get for being bothered by that !!!! so an unlucky combo as the smell was just dying down as we left

Also with three of us staying hot water was a slight problem as there was probably enough for 2 but not 3 s then one had to wait till that night or the next morning till the water heating came on again - so each day we took turns to be the smelly one :)

One bedroom can only be got to through another ... not a problem but just be warned that if you go to bed at different times depending where you sleep you may get woken - but ideal if you had a kid

All in all a nice place to stay that had all we needed.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: the paint smell !!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks for your review Sue, its good to get a different perspective. Sorry you felt there were some niggles. As I explained on your arrival I felt terrible about the paint smell but it was necessary unscheduled work that had over run by a day. I hope the candles helped and the fact it was August so the windows could be left open. I'm a little perplexed as to why you couldn't all have morning showers as there is an electric shower. The water heater is set to come on twice a day which generally provides ample hot water but if someone was to empty the tank by say running a bath it would run out until the heater came on again. Just to clarify the sitting room has 2 sofas, one is a 2 seater and the other a 3 seater and there is also a rocking chair so provides seating for a max of 5.
Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

No 53 is a lovely cottage in a great location for Shrewsbury town centre. We were there for 4 nights whilst my son played in a cricket festival at Shrewsbury School.
Rhian was lovely to deal with & left a bottle of wine & some milk in the fridge to welcome us!
The cottage is very well kitted out, the bedrooms are a great size, the back room in particular is really nice with a walk in wardrobe & en suite & a further single bedroom.
If we return to Shrewsbury I wouldn't hesitate to book No 53 again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Thanks Debbie, it was a pleasure having you to stay. Hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyce423
The Netherlands
1 review
“Very nice house with lovely garden”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this house. The location is perfect, the house is very comfortable and bigger than we expected, and the garden is wonderful. Luckily, the wheather was good during our stay. So, we spent a lot of time in the garden, reading our books while eating freshly picked raspberries. A perfect vacation!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thankyou Joyce. Glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth F
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home in the heart of Shrewsbury”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in this lovely house for a week whilst visiting our friends. The house was so well equipped, everything we needed was there, especially having a 2 year old and 8 month old, the extras that were supplied made life so much easier for us. (The books in the upstairs cupboard were a perfect touch!).
The house's location really is perfect, less than a 5 minute walk to the river, on a really pretty street.
The garden is extremely impressive, seemingly never-ending, and raspberries available to pick, which our 2 year old loved!
I would definitely recommend no. 53 for a stay in Shrewsbury, the personal touches were very much appreciated and it was reassuring to know that Rhian was at the other end of the phone should we have needed anything, which we didn't.
We would definitely like to return to stay at no. 53 during our next visit to Shrewsbury!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the comfy beds!
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
What a review! Thanks Ruth much appreciated and very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing