We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it.”

Watton Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watton Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 54 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Could not fault it.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the moment we arrived at Watton B & B we felt so at home. Dawn warmly welcomed us with tea and homemade cake. Our room was light and airy, very attractively furnished and looked out over the garden. There was a tray set with tea/coffee and in the afternoon there was always cake or biscuits. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom and shower very good. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and set us up for the day. Dawn gave us some tips on what to see in and around Shrewsbury which was very helpful. We enjoyed our short walk into the town which is vibrant with lots of shops and eating places for lunch or dinner but also has some very old and historic buildings. Ludlow another attractive town is only about 45 minutes away by car and worth a visit particularly on Saturday which is market day. From there we drove to Much Wenlock which has the ruins of an old priory. This was a smaller town with cottages with roses and clematis. We found out that this was where Dr Brookes





founded the Wenlock Olympian Games which inspired the French Baron Pierre de Coubertin to stage the first modern olympic games in Athens in 1896. This was also the place where we discovered an old fashioned general store with its sign saying "genuine icecream", which was simply delicious and very reasonably priced.

Do go and visit Watton B & B, I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Either room would be very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BISCUITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
49
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very welcoming hosts. Well designed rooms with lovely furnishings. Tea, coffee, milk in a flask
( not those horrible UHT ones) and homemade cake. Comfy bed, great shower, quality breakfast - couldn't ask for more. Definitely would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyB704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A very warm welcome.

Great room with space and a view of a lovely garden. A very good breakfast in a superb room with similarly great views.

The historic Town is a short and scenic walk along the river.

So good that we hope to return as a family. Great hosts very friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danelaw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a find! We received such a warm welcome we felt more like friends (though we also had our own space). Our room (overlooking the lovely garden) was immaculate and very comfortable, beautifully furnished with everything you could want, and lovely thoughtful extras. It was a short, pleasant walk into town (along the river) and breakfast was delicious and substantial. We really hope to have the opportunity to visit again. Secure bike storage was also provided.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just a beautiful place from the minute you walk through the door you are made welcome. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard.
The breakfast room very spacious and the added attraction of the birds feeding right outside the windows was lovely I could have sat and watched them all day, The freshly home cooked breakfast was very much appreciated.
Just a short walk and you are in the town within a few minutes what more can you ask.
When we are in the area again won't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Everything about Watton makes it the perfect place to stay when visiting Shrewsbury. The warmest of welcomes, free parking close to the town, spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms and a delicious breakfast. Watton is first class in every respect and we look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 55Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmigham
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I needed somewhere to stay in Shrewsbury while on a recent business trip. What an ideally located, warm and friendly gem of a place this is. The welcome was warm and I felt at home straight away. The facilities were clean and well presented, and the property is close to the lovely Town which I took a short walk to that evening. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#5 of 54 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watton Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watton Bed & Breakfast

Property: Watton Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22 Kingsland Road | Watton, Shrewsbury SY3 7LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watton is a handsome Arts & Crafts property built in the 1930s which has been sympathetically extended in 2013 to provide 2 delightful bedrooms each with an en-suite. We are located 50m from the Burrs Field and 150 m from the River Severn with its fine riverside walks The town centre is an 800m 10min walk which is a pleasant stroll through the Burrs Field and across the Kingsland Bridge over the River Severn. Shrewsbury is an historic market town with the town centre having a largely unaltered medieval street plan. The town features over 660 historic listed buildings, including several examples of timber framing from the 15th and 16th century. Shrewsbury town centre has a number of attractions including Shrewsbury Castle, Shrewsbury Abbey, Theatre Severn and a wide range of shops, pubs and restaurants. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in a warm, friendly and informal environment with two spacious double bedrooms, each with an en-suite bathroom. Other facilities include;• Freshly made, home cooked breakfast• Comfortable king size double bed• Waterfall shower• 28” Colour freeview digital TV • Complimentary hospitality tray• Access to free BT Infinity wireless broadband• Iron and ironing facilities available on request• Free off road parking. King size bedroom with en-suite shower room £70.00 per night, Single occupancy £60.00 per night. Extra fold up child's bed £20.00 per night. Long stay deals of 3 or more nights available. Prices include breakfast Please note: Payment by cheque or cash. Sorry no credit cards. If arriving by car there is plenty of free parking at the front of Watton. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watton Bed & Breakfast Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing