We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We paid £175 per night for B&B for two nights as a special birthday celebration. The room was in the old part of the manor house and winding our way up to the top of the house was lovely with all the old timbers and uneven floors. It was clean and well kept with nice Jacobean style furniture. The room itself was nice and airy with lovely views and the bed was very comfortable however we were disappointed in that there were stains on the carpet - probably old red wine stains - and the bathroom was a bit shabby. The side panel was lose at one end and the wall paper was torn and curling and the plug in one of the sinks didn't work so the water drained away.
There was a wedding on and we got to watch a lovely fireworks display from the bedroom window on the saturday evening. The wedding was no problem to us as they weren't rowdy, however the next morning we had to join the wedding party for a self service breakfast which was not what we expected. We felt that £175 for B&B we should have been served breakfast or at the very least told that the policy was for a self serve breakfast if there were over a certain number of people - and we were not. The sunday morning we were served breakfast in the lovely dining room in the old part of the house.
The staff were all very nice and helpful and the girl on reception said she would take the issues up with the management - I hope they listen and do something about it!
These things didn't spoil our weekend - we enjoyed ourselves - but they took the edge off the experience at The Albright Hussey

Room Tip: be sure to ask for the old house when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

Even though we only stayed one night, we loved this place. The food was superb as was the service! We would like to stay in a deluxe room next time.
Only criticsm was the poorly designed bathroom that meant a squeeze to get in and the need to be an acrobat to get out of the bath!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karendavid94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My friend told me about the wedding and you are right, she said it was all perfect, the staff, the location everything.
I wish you 2 all the luck together and I'll be visiting the Albright Hussey Manor this weekend to convince myself.
----------------------------------------------------
Just a very short note to you all for our wonderful weekend break in March 2011 on our wedding anniversary. From the minute we arrived until we left you all could not have done more, the food was all excellent with very friendly and helpful staff no matter what time of the day. This was our first stay but will definitely not be our last, we both look forward to seeing you all later in the year. Regards Linda & Ian Whiting

Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
Thank chichiCluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I travelled with my husband and sister and brother in law for an overnight stay .The welcome earliy in the morning was no problem although hours before normal check in .We recieved excellent service from the staff especially Malcolm who greeted us in the bar prior to dinner and recommended a really good wine to accompany our dinner .The dining room is small and intimate reflecting its long history and the food was excellent with no formal table d'hote but a good selection from the a la carte menu of locally sourced produce.(we spoke to the chef to thank him for the good food when he advised us of this).Good location off the road so quiet but near to Shrewsbury and the park and ride bus.Good rooms with all you would expect from a 4 * hotel

Room Tip: most rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralMargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

we were given a voucher as a present and decided to stay at this hotel. it was sold to us as a unique experience. we got there and they gave us a room in an 80's decorated building (which is not unique or listed on any of the pictures). The room was supposed to be an executive double but was tiny, we couldn't even get in the bathroom properly without squeezing ourself past the sink and bath and the bathroom door didn't fully open. The bath room was dated and the furniture peeling.
To make matters worse there was a wedding going on. The guests were smoking right outside our bedroom and all we could hear was swearing. We went out to eat and when we came back we went to reception to complain. The gentleman at reception was blunt and was obviously pre occupied with the wedding guests (who were drunk and bringing their own drink into the hotel). Instead of treating us with respect and being polite he seemed to have a sarcastic answer for everything. The party was so loud that we couldn't even have a drink in the bar. I wish the hotel had told us there was a wedding going on when we booked as we would have had a choice whether to book or go elsewhere. We checked out with in 3 hours of checking in. Never again will we stay there which is a shame as some of the staff were lovely and polite.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ally035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Just a very short note to you all for our wonderful weekend break in March 2011 on our wedding anniversary. From the minute we arrived until we left you all could not have done more, the food was all excellent with very friendly and helpful staff no matter what time of the day. This was our first stay but will definitely not be our last, we both look forward to seeing you all later in the year. Regards Linda & Ian Whiting

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianwhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Just got back from a very relaxing long weekend away. I cannot praise the hotel and it's staff highly enough. We stayed in the Royalist Suite I wish we could have taken the bed home with us so comfy! We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant and the breakfasts were superb. The only down side was that when people walk about it's very noisy as the floorboards creak but that's old houses for you. Just adds to it's charm. If you want a long relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brody11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,207 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
647 reviews
8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
476 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albright Hussey Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albright Hussey Manor Hotel

Address: 528 Ellesmere A | Broadoak, Shrewsbury SY4 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albright Hussey Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive over the bridge spanning the original Tudor moat, up to the doors of our family owned and managed Albright Hussey Manor Hotel where you will receive a very warm welcome. Set in over four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, our grade 2 listed, classic country house is one of only two hotels in Shrewsbury to be awarded four AA stars. Dating back to circa 1524, the hotel encompasses a wealth of history whilst offering the highest standards of comfort, cuisine and service. Our 26 superbly appointed bedrooms are all individually designed and our Moat Room Restaurant has an enviable reputation for some of the finest dining in Shropshire.Our aim is to ensure your visit to the beautiful county of Shropshire is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albright Hussey Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albright Hussey Manor Shrewsbury
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing